10 facts about Argentina-Germany FIFA World Cup 2014 final

Posted By:
Watch out for these two in the final - Messi and Muller
Rio de Janeiro, July 11: Estadio Do Maracana is ready to host the FIFA World Cup 2014 final on July 13 (Sunday) between Argentina and Germany.

World Cup Special; Final Schedule and Where To Watch?; Messi 'exhausted' ahead of final

In the semi-finals, Germany thrashed Brazil 7-1 while Argentina needed penalty shoot-out to see off last edition finalists Netherlands 4-2.

Also read: Argentina fined 0,000 ahead of final

How the world was when Argentina and Germany last met in a World Cup final

Here are the 10 facts about the final

  1. At this World Cup, Argentina have won all their previous 6 matches coming into the final. Germany too are unbeaten, however, they had one draw in group stage. All players, barring Miroslav Klose (2002 final) on either side are in the World Cup final for the first time
  2. Estadio Do Maracana stadium will host the final. It will be the second World Cup final at the venue, after 1950. The total capacity at Maracana is 76,935
  3. The world champions will receive $ 35 million prize money while the runner-up team gets $ 25 million
  4. This is the third meeting between the sides in a World Cup final. It is 1-1 with Argentina winning in 1986 final (3-2) and Germany in 1990 (1-0)
  5. Germany have won three World Cup titles - 1954, 1974 as hosts, 1990 (all 3 as West Germany) while Argentina were champions twice (1978 as hosts, 1986)
  6. For Argentina, it is their 5th time in final (Won 2 - 1978, 1986; Lost - 1930, 1990). Germany's 8th time in final (Won 3 - 1954, 1974, 1990; Lost - 1966, 1982, 1986, 2002)
  7. Argentina hold edge over Germany in head-to-head record, 9-6 while the other 5 ended in draws
  8. If Germany win on Sunday, they will become only the second team after Brazil (5 - 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2002) and Italy (4 - 1934 as hosts, 1938, 1982, 2006) to have won four or more World Cup trophies
  9. Argentina are in the final for the first time in 24 years while Germany are in the title round after 12 years. Germany's Thomas Muller is second on Golden Boot Standings with 5 goals while Lionel Messi is third with 4 goals. The leader is Colombia's James Rodriguez with 6
  10. A national team with a foreign coach has never won the FIFA World Cup. The 18 winning coaches to date have all been in charge of their home nation. The record will remain as both Argentina (Alejandro Sabella) and Germany (Joachim Loew) have home coaches. The captains for the final are - Messi (Argentina) and Philipp Lahm (Germany)

OneIndia News

Story first published: Friday, July 11, 2014, 13:18 [IST]
Other articles published on Jul 11, 2014
Please Wait while comments are loading...