Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

AFC Asian Cup 2027: India among five nations express interest to host the tournament

AFC Asian Cup 2027: India among five nations express interest to host the tournament

Bengaluru, July 1: The Asian Football Confederation (AFC) on Wednesday (July 1) said five member associations, including India, have expressed interest to host the AFC Asian Cup 2027. The nations had to submit their expression of interest by June 30.

The five associations who have signalled their intentions to stage Asia's premier football tournament are All India Football Federation, Football Federation Islamic Republic of Iran, Qatar Football Association, Saudi Arabian Football Federation and Uzbekistan Football Association.

The AFC will now work with each bidding member on the delivery of the necessary bidding documentation in accordance with the bidding process and will announce the host for the 19th edition of the AFC Asian Cup in 2021.

AFC President Shaikh Salman bin Ebrahim Al Khalifa thanked the five Associations for showing their support and hailed their ambitions as a great testament to the ever-growing stature of the AFC Asian Cup.

Shaikh Salman said: "The AFC Asian Cup is the pinnacle stage for Asia's finest and the record-breaking and biggest-ever edition in the United Arab Emirates in 2019 laid the foundations for Asian football to strengthen this legacy and we have no doubts that China will not only match but also surpass all our expectations in 2023.

"On behalf of the Asian football family, I would like to thank all our Member Associations for stepping forward to express their desire and for sharing our ambitions to host a world-class stage for our players, teams, officials and fans and I wish all of them the very best in the bidding process."

Of the five Member Associations expressing an interest, two nations have already hosted the tournament twice since its inception in 1956. Reigning champions Qatar staged the competition in 1988 and 2011, as well as the Iran, who are the only nation in Asian football history to have won the coveted crown twice on home soil in 1968 and 1976.

Three-time champions Saudi Arabia and India, who were recently awarded the hosting rights for the 2022 AFC Women's Asian Cup, as well as Uzbekistan, this year's host for the AFC U-19 Championship, are all vying to stage the tournament for the first time.

For Quick Alerts
Subscribe Now
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts
Story first published: Wednesday, July 1, 2020, 12:22 [IST]
Other articles published on Jul 1, 2020