Barcelona win UEFA Champions League 2015

Posted By:

Berlin, June 6: Spanish giants Barcelona defeated Juventus of Italy 3-1 in the final to clinch UEFA Champions League title here tonight (Saturday).

This was Barcelona's 5th Champions League trophy and completed a treble (La Liga, Spanish King's Cup and Champions League) this season. Barcelona are only the 5th team in history to win 5 or more trophies. The other 4 are - Real Madrid (10), AC Milan (7), Bayern Munich (5) and Liverpool (5).

Barcelona players celebrate with the trophy

Barcelona took an early lead through Ivan Rakitic in the 4th minute but Juventus equalised in the second half when Alvaro Morata found the net in the 55th minute.

Luis Suarez put the Spanish side back in lead and Neymar sealed the game in stoppage time with another goal. Neymar had a goal disallowed earlier due to handball.

Barcelona had previously won the crown in 1996, 2006, 2009 and 2011. With this defeat, Juventus became the first team to lose 6 finals.

"It's incredible, it's something unique. To win these trophies you have to suffer. I think after the equaliser they pushed on a little more, but we have players who made the difference. We have gone from game-to-game and achieved all our objectives," Suarez said.

"The best thing about this side is the spirit and the fact we've been united since the start of the season," he added.


Barcelona beat Juventus 3-1


Barcelona - Ivan Rakitic (4th minute), Luis Suarez (68), Neymar (90+7)

Juventus - Alvaro Morata (55)

Man-of-the-match - Andres Iniesta

Match statistics

Possession - Barcelona 62%; Juventus 38%

Total attempts - B 18; J 14

On target - B 8; J 6

Passes completed - B 505; J 287

Yellow cards - J 2; B 1

Fouls committed - B 12; J 24

Fouls suffered - B 23; J 10

Lionel Messi kisses the trophy

Barcelona's winning squad

Goalkeepers: Claudio Bravo (Chile), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Germany), Jordi Masip (Spain)

Defenders: Martin Montoya (Spain), Gerard Pique (Spain), Marc Bartra (Spain), Douglas (Brazil), Jordi Alba (Spain), Dani Alves (Brazil), Thomas Vermaelen (Belgium), Jeremy Mathieu (France), Adriano (Brazil)

Midfielders: Ivan Rakitic (Croatia), Sergio Busquets (Spain), Xavi (Spain), Andres Iniesta (Spain), Rafinha (Brazil), Javier Mascherano (Argentina), Sergi Roberto (Spain), Samper (Spain)

Forwards: Lionel Messi (Argentina), Luis Suarez (Uruguay), Neymar (Brazil), Pedro (Spain), Sandro (Spain), Munir (Spain)

Coach: Luis Enrique (Spain)

Assistant coaches: Robert Moreno (Spain), Unzue (Spain)

Goalkeeper coach: Jose Ramon de la Fuente (Spain)

OneIndia News

Story first published: Sunday, June 7, 2015, 2:27 [IST]
Other articles published on Jun 7, 2015
Please Wait while comments are loading...

Get breaking news alerts from myKhel