Bhaichung Bhutia, AIFF's Player of the Year

New Delhi, Dec 24: Bhaichung Bhutia, the India and Mohun Bagan skipper was chosed the All India Football Federation's Player of the Year for 2009. The Indian skipper's inspirational role in winning the AFC Challenge Cup had fetched him the most valuable player award earlier and so this came as no much surprise.

Bhutia who won the award first time in 1995, is the only player after IM Vijayan to win it twice. Vijayan was awarded thrice ever since its inception in 1992. Praful Patel, the Union Civil Aviation Minister who is also the vice-President of the AIFF chaired the meet. Patel, who would be the acting chief in absence of the indisposed AIFF President Priyaranjan Dasmunshi -- he was re-elected unanimously for another term today -- hinted that secretary general Alberto Colaco will be continuing.

OneIndia News (With inputs from Agencies)

Read more about: aiff mohun bagan
Story first published: Wednesday, December 24, 2008, 16:31 [IST]
Other articles published on Dec 24, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...