Home » Football » News »FIFA shortlists 10 players for World Cup Golden Ball

FIFA shortlists 10 players for World Cup Golden Ball

Posted By: Devaki

Johannesburg, July 11(ANI): FIFA has announced the Golden Ball Award candidates for the World Cup in South Africa.

The selection was made by a group of football experts called the 'FIFA's Technical Study Group' and the winners will be chosen by representatives of the media.

The ten shortlisted players are: Diego Forlan (Uruguay), Asamoah Gyan (Ghana), Andres Iniesta (Spain), Lionel Messi (Argentina), Mesut Ozil (Germany), Arjen Robben (Holland), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany), Wesley Sneijder (Holland), David Villa (Spain) and Xavi (Spain).

The three players shortlisted for the Young Player award include German midfielder Thomas Muller, who made his mark in South Africa before being ruled out of the defeat to Spain through suspension.

Mexican winger Giovani dos Santos and Ghana ace Andre Ayew are the surprise names competing for the prize. (ANI)

Story first published: Sunday, July 11, 2010, 16:45 [IST]
Other articles published on Jul 11, 2010
Please Wait while comments are loading...