Mohinder to lead Delhi in U-21 National football

New Delhi, Jan 29 (UNI) Striker Mohinder Singh will lead a 20-member Delhi team in the 17th U-21 National Football championship to be held at Madurai from February 1 to 17.

The team: Goal keepers: Narinder Kadian, Shantanu Jain. Defenders: Meeraj Ahmed, Arif Ansari,Shorab Khan,Yogesh Prasad, Vikas Rawat, Sourabh Sehgal, Sohail Akhtar, Ankit Maxwell James.

Mid-fielders: Sorabh Rawat, Rajib Karmakar, Chander Mohan Goswami, Ashish Rawat, B Nameirakpan.

Forwards: Amit Rawat,Kulbhushan Mandrwal(v-capt), Manish Negi, Mohinder Singh (capt), Anupam Kujur.

Coaches: Ravi Rana, Abhijoy Basu, Managers: Magan singh, D K Bose.

Delhi has been placed in group F along with Manipur, Maharashtra and Bihar.

The other groupings are: Group A: Tamil Nadu, Rajasthan, Himachal.

Group B: Goa, Chandigarh, Karnataka.

Group C: Punjab, Pondicherry, Gujarat.

Group D: Bengal, Haryana, Daman and Diu.

Group E: Kerala, UP, Chattisgarh.

Group G: Jharkhand, J and K, Andaman-Niciobar, Assam.

Group H: Mizoram, Orissa, Uttrakhand, MP.

Tamil Nadu will take on Rajasthan in the inaugural match on February 1, while Rajasthan takes on Maharashtra in the second match on that day.

Delhi wil play their first match against Manipur on February 2, followed by Maharashtra on February 4 and Bihar on February 6.

Winner of each group will qualify for quarter finals which will be played on knock out basis.


Story first published: Tuesday, January 29, 2008, 17:43 [IST]
Other articles published on Jan 29, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...
+ More