Ronaldo to defend FIFA's Player of the Year title

Posted By: Staff

Zurich, Dec 8: Portugal's Cristiano Ronaldo, Argentina's Lionel Messi, Brazil's Kaka,and Spanish duo Andres Iniesta and Xavi have been shorlisted by FIFA for the 2009 Player of the Year title.

Football's governing body will be announcing Player of the Year for 2009 on Dec 21, after the winner is chosen by national team coaches and captains, who are not allowed to vote for players from their own country.

For Ronaldo, this comes as a chance to defend his title, while for Kaka this comes as an oppurtunity to reclaim the title he won in 2007.

Messi has already claimed the France Football magazine's Ballon D'Or award, for his efforts in helping Barcelona to win the 2008-2009 Champions League.

OneIndia News

Story first published: Tuesday, December 8, 2009, 13:08 [IST]
Other articles published on Dec 8, 2009
Please Wait while comments are loading...