Home » Football » News » West zone Football Championship to begin tomorrow

West zone Football Championship to begin tomorrow

Panaji, Nov 12 (UNI) A total of 42 Univesity football teams from Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, Rajasthan and Goa will vie for top honours in the West Zone Inter University football (Men's) championship hosted by Goa University, that will commence from tomorrow in Goa at three different venues.

The Goa University is organising the event for the fourth time, which will be inaugurated by its Vice-Chancellor Prof Dileep Deobagkar.

The ten-day event will be played on knock-out cum league basis.

The 42 teams are divided into four groups, group 'A' and 'C' consist of 11 teams each and group 'B' and 'D' comprise 10 teams each. Four teams in each group--Goa, Mumbai, Shivaji (Kolhapur) and Barkatullah (Bhopal)--are directly seeded into the quarter finals.

Everyday four knock-out matches will be played till November 18 and the league matches will be played from November 20 at the University Ground after a rest day on November 19.

On the opening day, Devi Ahilya, Indore will clash with Bharati Vidyapeeth, Pune will take on R T M Nagpur, Bikaner will meet Sardar Patel, Agriculture and Technology, Udaipur will take on Jiwaji.


Story first published: Monday, November 12, 2007, 20:05 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 12, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...