Your complete guide to UEFA Champions League 2015 Final

Posted By:

Berlin, June 5: Barcelona and Juventus will battle for European football supremacy when they meet in the UEFA Champions League (UCL) final on Saturday (June 6).

Fans around the world are waiting to watch the biggest match of the year with Spanish giants Barcelona being favourites against the Italian side.

File photo: Barcelona celebrating their La Liga title win last month

Here is your complete guide to the Champions League final

Where, when and time?

  • Olympiastadion, Berlin (Germany)
  • Saturday June 6, 2015 (20.45 Local Time) (18.45 PM GMT)
  • 12.15 AM IST (June 7)

About the venue

Olympiastadion is hosting UCL final for the first time. It was also the venue for 2006 FIFA World Cup final (Italy beat France 5-3 on penalties. 1-1 after extra time)

About the trophy

Champions League trophy (73.5 cm tall and 7.5 kgs) will become the property of any club which wins the tournament 5 times or 3 years in a row, according to UEFA. Barcelona have a chance tomorrow if they win their 5th title. Real Madrid, AFC Ajax, Bayern Munich, AC Milan and Liverpool FC are the only teams to own the trophy so far

Where to watch on TV in India?

  • Ten Sports/Ten Action (Match coverage starts at 10 PM IST)

How many times have these two teams played in UCL/European Cup finals before?

  • Both Barcelona and Juventus have reached UCL/European Cup final 7 times before

How many UCL/European titles for both?

  • Barcelona - 4 (1991-92, 2005-06, 2008-09, 2010-11)
  • Juventus - 2 (1984-85, 1995-96)

Prize money details

  • Winner - Euros 15 million
  • Runner-up - Euros 10.5 million

Tournament statistics

  • Goals - Barcelona: 28; Juventus: 16

Lionel Messi has a chance to set a record. He is seen here celebrating with his son after winning La Liga title this year

Barcelona's coach Luis Enrique was part of the trophy winning team in 1997

Barcelona's Lionel Messi scored in 2009 and 2011 final victories and can set a record by becoming the first player to score in 3 finals

8 players (Daniel Alves, Gerard Pique, Xavi Hernandez, Andres Iniesta, Javier Mascherano, Sergio Busquets, Pedro Rodriguez, Lionel Messi) of the current Barcelona squad played in 2011 final. Adriano was also in the squad but not used

Path to the final


  • Topper of Group F
  • Round of 16 - Beat Manchester City
  • Quarter-finals - Defeated Paris Saint-Germain
  • Semi-finals - Beat Bayern Munich


  • Runner-up in Group A
  • Round of 16 - Beat Borussia Dortmund
  • Quarter-finals - Beat AS Monaco
  • Semi-finals - Beat Real Madrid

Finals decided by a penalty shoot-out (Since 1992-93)

Note: Champions League started in 1992, replacing the earlier European Cup

  • 1996 - Juventus beat AFC Ajax 4-2 after a 1-1 draw
  • 2001 - FC Bayern MÜnchen beat Valencia CF 5-4 after a 1-1 draw
  • 2003 - AC Milan beat Juventus 3-2 after a 0-0 draw
  • 2005 - Liverpool FC beat AC Milan 3-2 after a 3-3 draw
  • 2008 - Manchester United FC beat Chelsea FC 6-5 after a 1-1 draw
  • 2012 - Chelsea FC beat FC Bayern MÜnchen 4-3 after a 1-1 draw

Action from UCL semi-final between Juventus and Real Madrid



  • Goalkeepers: Claudio Bravo (Chile), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Germany), Jordi Masip (Spain)
  • Defenders: Martin Montoya (Spain), Gerard Pique (Spain), Marc Bartra (Spain), Douglas (Brazil), Jordi Alba (Spain), Dani Alves (Brazil), Thomas Vermaelen (Belgium), Jeremy Mathieu (France), Adriano (Brazil)
  • Midfielders: Ivan Rakitic (Croatia), Sergio Busquets (Spain), Xavi (Spain), Andres Iniesta (Spain), Rafinha (Brazil), Javier Mascherano (Argentina), Sergi Roberto (Spain), Samper (Spain)
  • Forwards: Lionel Messi (Argentina), Luis Suarez (Uruguay), Neymar (Brazil), Pedro (Spain), Sandro (Spain), Munir (Spain)
  • Coach: Luis Enrique (Spain)
  • Assistant coaches: Robert Moreno (Spain), Unzue (Spain)
  • Goalkeeper coach: Jose Ramon de la Fuente (Spain)


  • Goalkeepers: Gianluigi Buffon (Italy), Marco Storari (Italy), Rubinho (Brazil)
  • Defenders: Angelo Ogbonna (Italy), Andrea Barzagli (Italy), Paolo De Ceglie (Italy), Leonardo Bonucci (Italy), Stephan Lichtsteiner (Switzerland), Patrice Evra (France).
  • Midfielders: Paul Pogba (France), Simone Pepe (Italy), Claudio Marchisio (Italy), Simone Padoin (Italy), Andrea Pirlo (Italy), Arturo Vidal (Chile), Stefano Sturaro (Italy), Roberto Pereyra (Argentina)
  • Forwards: Alvaro Morata (Spain), Carlos Tevez (Argentina), Kingsley Coman (France), Fernando Llorente (Spain), Alessandro Matri (Italy)
  • Coach: Massimiliano Allegri (Italy)
  • Assistant coach: Marco Landucci (Italy)
  • Goalkeeper coach: Claudio Filippi (Italy)

Match officials

  • Referee: Cuneyt Cakir (Turkey)
  • Assistant referees: Bahattin Duran and Tarik Ongun (both Turkey)
  • Addition assistant referees: Huseyin Gocek and Baris Simsek (both Turkey)
  • Fourth official: Jonas Eriksson (Sweden)

OneIndia News

Story first published: Friday, June 5, 2015, 15:11 [IST]
Other articles published on Jun 5, 2015
Please Wait while comments are loading...