Home » Hockey » News » 18-member Indian women's hockey team to leave for Europe

18-member Indian women's hockey team to leave for Europe

New Delhi, Jun 22 (UNI) An 18-member Indian women's hockey team led by captain Surinder Kaur will leave for a tour of the Netherlands and Germany on June 23 to prepare for the 2010 Commonwealth Games.

The Indian team will participate in two four-nations tournaments during the tour.

The first tournament will be in Rotterdam, Netherlands from June 23 to 28.

India will face strong competition from Great Britain and South Africa, besides the host nation.

The second tournament, to be held at Bremen, Germany from July 3 to 6, will also be a keenly contested affair with India battling against Asian powerhouse Korea, South Africa and Germany.

While skipper Surinder Kaur will spearhead the attack, the defensive duties fall on the shoulders of the experienced Rajwinder Kaur alongwith Pushpa Pradhan and Binita Toppo.

Subhadra Pradhan and Th Ranjita will provide the much needed impetus in the midfield.

Chief coach MK Kaushik will be keen to live upto his impressive credentials.

The team: Goalkeepers: Savita, Marita Tirkey.

Defenders : Binita Toppo, Eti Shrivastava, Rajwinder Kaur, Pushpa Pradhan Midfielders: Subhadra Pradhan, Rijuta Mullick, Th Ranjita, Rosalind Ralte.

Forwards : Th Chanchan Devi, Manorama Devi, Vartika Singh, Ritu Rani, Poonam Rani, Rani, S. Ranjita Devi, Surinder Kaur (captain ).

Chief Coach: MK Kaushik.

Coach : Vasu Thapliyal Video Analyst: Rajinder Kumar.

Physiotherapist: Aditya Shanker.


Story first published: Sunday, June 22, 2008, 18:03 [IST]
Other articles published on Jun 22, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...