Bharat Petroleum wins 4th Maharaja Ranjit Singh Hockey Tournamen

New Delhi, Feb 27 (UNI) International Amar Aiyamma fired three goals as Bharat Petroleum pipped Indian Oil in a fast paced final of the 4th Maharaja Ranjit Singh Hockey Tournament here today.

With this win Bharat Petroleum received a prize money of Rs 1,25,000 while the runners-up earned Rs 75,000.

In an exiting encounter, Bharat Petroleum surged in the lead in the 11th minute as Ravi Pal Singh slammed home a penalty corner.

Olympian Deepak Thakur (17th, PC) restored parity for Indian Oil but Aiyamma (20th) scored a fine goal as Bharat Petroleum went into half-time with a 2-1 lead.

International Roshan Minz (39th) scored soon after the break as Indian Oil levelled the score but Bharat Petroleum regained their lead through a field goal by Aiyamma (46th).

However, their joy was shortlived as Deedar Singh (49th, PC) fired home a penalty corner as Indian Oil drew level once again.

Bharat Petroleum was ahead soon after as Jarnail Singh (51st) and Aiyamma (56th) to give their team a two-goal lead.

Tyron Pereira (61st) got one back as Indian Oil stepped up the pressure towards the end but the Bharat Petroleum defence stood firm to deny their opponents the equaliser.

Hamza Mujtaba of Indian Oil was adjudged the best player of the tournament while Army XI received the fair play trophy.


Story first published: Friday, February 29, 2008, 12:58 [IST]
Other articles published on Feb 29, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...