Bijapur's Sainik School record big win in Nehru Junior Hockey

New Delhi, Nov 2 (UNI) Spearheaded by B K Sharan who slammed four goals, Sainik School, Bijapur (Karnataka) trounced Govt Inter College, Chamoli (Uttrakhand) 6-1 in the 36th Nehru Junior Hockey tournment here today.

In a one sided encounter, Sainik School led 3-0 at the breather.

Other goal getters for the Karnataka school were H Ravi and C U Rahul who scored one each, while Taran Rawat reduced the margin for the losers.

In the second match, Shamshad Ahmed scored three goals as S D Nagar Palika, Rajnandgoan (Chhattisgarh) overpowered S G N Khalsa School, Sri Ganganagar (Rajasthan) 4-1. The teams were levelled 1-1 at half time.

Khalsa School surged ahead in the 21st minute through Surya Prakash, but the lead was short lived as Shamshad Ahmad equalised in the 23rd minute.

Tarun Yadav then put Rajanadgoan in the lead in 51st minute and Shamshad Ahmad added two more goals (52nd and 54th) to complete the tally.

Govt School, Kalpi (Madhya Pradesh) squandered a 2-0 lead to shar points as their match with Gyandeep School, Gandhinagar (Gujarat) ended in 2-2 draw.

Sandeep (8th) and Chandresh (26th) scored for Madhya Pradesh, while Rahul Sharma(34th) and Sanjay Khuswaha (50th) earned the goal for the Gujrat side.

The last match of day was won by G V Raja Sports School, Trivandrum, who defeated Vivekanand College, Kolhapur (Maharashtra) 4-3.

Gokulnadh R (two), Arun E J, Sahad M P (one each) struck for Trivandrum school. Shiekh Salman Moula (two) and Kazi Amir Suhel Raju (one each) were the goal getters for the Kolhapur team.


Story first published: Friday, November 2, 2007, 20:09 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 2, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...