Home » Hockey » News » BSF, SSB, Ropar Hawks win inaugural ties of All India Police Hockey

BSF, SSB, Ropar Hawks win inaugural ties of All India Police Hockey

Jammu, Mar 1 (UNI) Border Security Force (BSF) Jallandhar, SSB and Ropar Hawks were the winners of the inaugural matches of the Third Martyrs All India Police Hockey Meet, which was declared open by the Jammu and Kashmir Governor Lt. Gen. S K Sinha at K K Hakkhu Astro-Turf Hockey Stadium this evening.

The BSF Jallandhar defeated Corps of Signal by two goals to nil in a well contested match as first half ended goalless. Mandeep Singh (senior) struck for his side in the very first minute of the second half and scored a marvelous field goal followed by Habeel Topano, who netted the second goal in the 49th minute for the BSF.

However, earlier in the morning matches, SSB beat CISF 3-0. (O Gunmani 17th, L. Joy Chander 41st, Choudhary Sanjeet Singh 61st through penalty corner) Ropar hawks beat Jammu and Kashmir Hockey Association (JKHA) XI 1-0. (Rizwan scored a lone field goal in the 45th minute).

After inaugurating the tournament, Lt. Gen. Sinha in his address said that he is glad to see good matches. Reminding his days of yesteryears, the governor said, ''hockey is our national sport and it was in 1937 during Olympics when India defeated all its rivals by the margin of atleast 20 goals except in finals, where they beat Germany by 8-1.'' ''This tournament is a gesture to remember the martyrs, who have sacrificed their lives,'' Lt. Gen. Sinha said adding that Jammu and Kashmir Police has maximum number of martyrs in the country.

The tournament is being hosted by the Jammu and Kashmir Police under the aegis of Jammu and Kashmir Hockey Association and Indian Hockey Federation.


Story first published: Saturday, March 1, 2008, 22:02 [IST]
Other articles published on Mar 1, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...