Home » Hockey » News » Jalandhar school thrash Govt school, ludhiana 14-0 in Nehru hockey

Jalandhar school thrash Govt school, ludhiana 14-0 in Nehru hockey

New Delhi, Nov 10 (UNI) On a day when it rained goals, Sukhdeep Singh and Navnesh Kumar slammed a hattrick each as Govt School, Ladowali, Jalandhar, thrashed Govt School, Jarkar,Ludhiana 14-0 in the 36th Nehru Junior Hockey Tournament here today.

The winners led 7-0 at half-time. Others scorers were Manjinder Singh, Mandeep Singh, Karan Pal Singh(2 each) and Jaswinder Singh(1).

In another match,Hasan Raza and Prashant Sharma fired hatricks to enable local challenger Guru Harkishen Public School,Shahdara route former champion St Ignatious High School, Gumla, 8-1.

Kamlesh Rai and Vickram Sangwan(one each) rounded off the tally for the winners. Birsa Nayak scored a consolation goal for the Gumla team.

In others matches, SGPS Academy, Ludhiana, downed Krira Shiksha Protishtan, Bangladesh, 2-1. The Punjab team scored through Saudagar Singh and Basant Singh (one each) while Md Zamil Bin Talib reduced the margin for the losers.

Town High School, Sundergarh, played out a 1-1 draw with Lyallpur Khalsa School, Jalandhar. Jagdish Soreng scored for the Orrisa team while Mandeep Bajwa scored for Jalandhar. Both teams were locked 0-0 at half-time.


Read more about: sportshockeynehru juniors
Story first published: Saturday, November 10, 2007, 20:03 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 10, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...