Home » Hockey » News »World Series Hockey: Bhopal Badshahs win a thriller

World Series Hockey: Bhopal Badshahs win a thriller

Posted By:
Bhopal Badshahs won
Chandigarh, Mar 1: The World Series Hockey (WSH) got under way on Wednesday night with an exciting match between Bhopal Badshahs and Chandigarh Comets where the former emerged triumphant 4-3 at the Sector 42 Stadium here.

Click here for World Series Hockey 2012 Full Schedule

Laxman Bhaskaran (sixth and 63rd minute), Geowynee Kyle Gamiet (26th) and Affan Yousuf (61st) were the scorers for the victorious team while the three goals for Chandigarh were scored by Gurjinder Singh (22nd and 57th) and Jasjit Kular Singh (29th).

The league, which will see matches being played over four quarters of 17.5 minutes each, kicked off with a thrilling encounter.

There were four goals scored in the last quarter when the Badshahs staged a fine comeback into the contest. The match was played at a fast pace.

The match started with the Badshahs scoring in the sixth minute when Laxman found the target with a penalty corner. And after a tough battle between the two sides in the three quarters, Badshahs finally emerged victorious in the final quarter.

At one stage, the match looked headed towards a draw but Laxman struck in the 63rd minute to give a victorious start to the Badshahs.

Laxman did not succumb to the pressure of playing under his father Vasudevan Bhaskaran, who is Badshahs coach. Bhaskaran, who was the Indian team's captain when it won the 1980 Olympics gold in Moscow, also coached the Indian team.

This new league involves city-based teams, playing on home and away basis with eight teams in the fray. At the end of the league phase, the top four teams will qualify for the semi-finals.

The final will be held on April 2. The semi-final matches are scheduled for April 1.

The tournament will be played across eight cities, Bangalore, Chandigarh, Mumbai, Delhi, Bhopal, Chennai, Pune and Jalandhar.

WSH is a joint venture by Indian Hockey Federation (IHF) and Nimbus Sport.

World Series Hockey Teams

1. Bhopal Badshahs

2. Chandigarh Comets

3. Chennai Cheetahs

4. Delhi Wizards

5. Karnataka Lions

6. Mumbai Marines

7. Pune Strykers

8. Sher-E-Punjab

February 29, opening day result: Bhopal Badshahs beat Chandigarh Comets 4-3

Today's (March 1) Matches

7.00 PM: Sher-E-Punjab vs Chennai Cheetahs (Jalandhar)

9.00 PM: Mumbai Marines vs Pune Strykers (Mumbai)

Tomorrow's Matches (March 2)

7.00 PM: Delhi Wizards vs Karnataka Lions (Delhi)

9.00 PM: Mumbai Marines vs Bhopal Badshahs (Mumbai)

OneIndia News

Read more about: bhopal chandigarh hockey sports
Story first published: Thursday, March 1, 2012, 13:36 [IST]
Other articles published on Mar 1, 2012
Please Wait while comments are loading...