Champions again: India win Kabaddi World Cup 2016

Posted By: PTI

Ahmedabad, Oct 22: India tonight (October 22) triumphed in the 2016 Kabaddi World Cup for a 3rd straight time as they staged a remarkable fightback to overcome a tough Iran 38-29 in the title clash, maintaining their dominance in the sport.

This was India's third title triumph on the trot in a sport they have dominated for long. Incidentally, Iran tasted defeat to India in the last two World Cup finals and at the Asian Games.

File photo: Indian players in action during the Kabaddi World Cup

Ajay Thakur was the star performer of the final, claiming 12 points. Iran fought bravely and took the lead going into the first half break at 18-13, but Thakur changed the complexion in the second half and he was helped by some resolute defending from the hosts.

Speaking after the victory, Ajay declared, "India is always number one in kabaddi." He added, "This is the most wonderful moment of my career."


India: Anup Kumar (captain), Ajay Thakur, Deepak Niwas Hooda, Jasvir Singh, Pardeep Narwal, Rahul Chaudhary, Dharamraj Cherathalan, Mohit Chhillar, Surender Nada, Surjeet Narwal, Kiran Parmar, Manjeet Chhillar, Sandeep Narwal, Nitin Tomar.

Iran: Meraj Sheykh (captain), Abolfazl Maghsoudlou Mahalli, Gholamabbas Korouki, Mohammadesmaeil Maghsoudloumahalli, Mohammadtaghi Paeinmahali, Mohsen Maghsoudloujafari, Abozar Mohajer Mighani, Fazel Atrachali, Hadi Tajik, Milad Sheibak, Soleiman Pahlevani, Mohammad Esmaeil Nabibakhsh, Farhad Rahimi Milaghardan, Saeid Ghaffari.

List of Kabaddi World Cup champions

2016 - India

2007 - India

2004 - India

PTI/OneIndia News

Story first published: Saturday, October 22, 2016, 21:14 [IST]
Other articles published on Oct 22, 2016

Get breaking news alerts from myKhel