Home » More Sports » 12 team to vie for honours in division 5 of WCL

12 team to vie for honours in division 5 of WCL

New Delhi, May 22 (UNI) In a bid to qualify for the 2011 World Cup to be held in the sub-continent, twelve teams across the globe will participate in Division 5 of the World Cricket League (WCL) starting from tomorrow at the Channel Island of Jersey, England.

The 12-team event will be staged across six venues which runs from May 23-31, will take the format of two groups- Group A and Group B- of six with the top two from each section progressing to the knock-out stage.

Group A consist of Germany, Mozambique, Nepal, Norway, US, Vanutau whereas Group B involves Afghanistan, Bahamas, Botswana, Japan, Singapore and host Jersey.

The finalists from this tournament will be promoted to the ICC World Cricket League Division 4 thus joining Hong Kong, Fiji, Tanzania and Italy in a six-team event that will take place in the Tanzanian capital of Dar Es Salaam from 4 to 11 October.

In turn, the top two teams from that tournament will progress to WCL Division 3 in Argentina next January and then the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2009 in the UAE, which incorporates Divisions 1 and 2.

At the end of that tournament, the top four Associate or Affiliate teams in the world will be booking their places at the 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup to be staged in India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

Those four will join the 10 Full Members to decide the top one-day side in the world.


Story first published: Thursday, May 22, 2008, 16:37 [IST]
Other articles published on May 22, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...