Abhilasha stuns top seed Aakansha

Chandigarh, June 19 (UNI) It will be an all-Delhi affair in the girls Under-16 final as fourth seed Abhilasha Mehra will challenge unseeded Nikita in the AITA Talent Series Tennis Tournament here at the CLTA Sports Complex tomorrow.

In semi-final matches played today, Abhilasha Mehra upset the apple card of top seed Aakansha Punj in straight sets 6-2, 6-3 and Nikita snuffed out the challenge of Medha Toor, also of Delhi 7-6 (5), 6-3.

Two Delhi boys, unseeded Abhimanyu Singh and second seed Ankit Chaudhary, will fight it out between them for the Under-16 title.

In men's semi-finals, Abhimanyu Singh ended the challenge of local qualifier Jaivadhan Gupta 6-1, 7-6 (2) and Ankit Chaudhary ousted fifth seed Manish Kumar, also of Delhi 7-6 (5), 6-2.

CLTA trainee and third seed Vibhuti Khullar advanced to the girls Under-12 final.

In another semi-final contest, stubborn Vibhuti, down by first set, rallied to prevail over Devika Chakravarti 4-6, 6-3, 6-3.

Vibhuti Khullar will now face top seed Samriti of Delhi in the final to be played tomorrow.

Samriti proved too good for fourth seed Medha Toor, also of Delhi, as the top favourite recorded straight sets win 6-3, 6-3 in the second semi-final match.

Jatinder Singh will face Fatehdeep Singh in the boys Under-12 singles final.

In semis, Jatinder beat Sachin Kumar 6-2, 6-1 and Fatehdeep ended the challenge of Ishaque Eqbal 6-2, 6-1. Jatinder is in line for a double as he and Pranav defeated Ishaque Eqbal and Dheer Anush 6-2, 6-4 to emerge winner in the boys under-12 doubles final.

Results: Boys Under-12 (SFs): Jatinder Singh bt Sachin Kumar 6-2, 6-1, Fatehdeep Singh bt Ishaque Eqbal 6-2, 6-1.

Girls Under-12 (SFs): Samriti bt Medha Toor 6-3, 6-2, Vibhuti Khullar bt Devika Chakravarti 4-6, 6-3, 6-3.

Boys Under-16 (SFs): Abhimanyu Singh bt Jaivardhan Gupta 6-1, 7-6 (2), Ankit Chaudhary bt Manish Kumar 7-6 (5), 6-4.

Girls Under-16 (SFs): Abhilasha Mehra bt Aakanksha Punj 6-2, 6-3, Nikita bt Medha Toor 7-6 (5), 6-3.

Boys Under-16 doubles (SFs): Kamal Kishore&Pankaj Kumar bt Abhimanyu Singh&Mandeep Kumar 6-2, 4-6, Resham Singh&Suraj Beniwal bt Hriday Kriplani&Ankit Chaudhary 6-2, 6-4.

Girls Under-16 doubles (s-final): Abhilasha Mehra&Priyanka Rawat bt Nikita&Charvi Saxena 6-2, 6-3.

Boys Under-12 doubles (final): Pranav&Jatinder Singh bt Ishaque Eqbal&Dheer Anush 6-2, 6-4.


Story first published: Thursday, June 19, 2008, 22:06 [IST]
Other articles published on Jun 19, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...

Get breaking news alerts from myKhel