Home » More Sports » Actor Napolean elected patron of TNBA, Dyaneswaran ousted

Actor Napolean elected patron of TNBA, Dyaneswaran ousted

Chennai, Jun 22 (UNI) In elections held after 21 years, popular Tamil actor D Napolean was today elected as patron of the strife torn Tamil Nadu Basketball Association (TNBA).

Mr M S Venkatraman was elected as President of the TNBA at its extraordinary General Body meeting held here. He replaced the incumbent Mr A N Dyaneswaran against whom majority of the affiliated clubs expressed dissatisfaction over his functioning and had sought his removal.

Mr R Selvaraj was elected as Secretary.

Mr S Subramanian and A Chella Raj were elected as vice-presidents, while Mr J Pandian Franklin was elected as Joint Secretary. Mr S Arulmozhi would be the Joint Secretary and Treasurer.

Talking to reporters after the meeting, Mr Napolean and Mr Venkatraman said all the elections were unanimous and the new office-bearers would have a term of four years.

Observing that elections were last held in 1987, they said today's meeting and polls were held as per the 1985 bye-laws of the Association, which was registered under the Societies Act.

Of the 14 office-bearers, three died and invitation to the meeting was issued to the remaining 11 members, including Mr Dyaneswaran, who did not attend the meeting.

Following the revolt raised by 240 affiliated clubs against Mr Dyaneswaran, the meeting was held today to elect the new office bearers, Mr Venkatraman said.


Story first published: Sunday, June 22, 2008, 21:02 [IST]
Other articles published on Jun 22, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...