Adhiban emerges as youngest National B Champion

Panaji,Sep 25 (UNI) Tamilandu's International Master (IM) B Adhiban (ELO 2422) today emerged as the youngest champion, after a comprehensive victory in just 22 moves over Maharastra's IM Akshayraj Kore(ELO 2392) in the final round of the Monginis 46th National''B'' Chess Championship at Damodar Sausthan Zambailim in south Goa.

The winners pocketed 41 ELO rating points, a cash prize of Rs 50,000, and a trophy for his excellent play throughout the tournament. Adhiban equals K Sasikiran's score of 11 points, which is the highest tally record in the national ''B'' Chess Championship.

Adhiban, who is a student of K Visvershwaran, Chennai coach, has been an integral part of the two time gold medal winning Indian team in the U-16 World Olympiad. He was better right from opening itself and after 10 moves of a king's Indian attack, Adhiban had a overwhelming initiative. Although his opponent tried to complicate the issue, the Tamilandu star made no errors and efficiently wrapped up the game and the title.

On the second Board, Grandmaster Parimarjan Negi(ELO 2529) of Air India played cooly to outwit International Maser Saptarish Roy Chowdhary(ELO 2411) of the Railways. Negi offered a draw on the 10th move which his opponent refused as it would not have helped his qualification chances. Thereafter, Negi who is becoming a super Grandmaster with an ELO rating in excess of 2600 in the September list, exploited Chowdhary's rash play to win the game in just 26 moves of an irregular opening. Negi thus finished as runner up in a very strong field and had to be content with four ELO rating points in his kitty.

International Master elect M S Thejkumar (ELO 2441) of railways played a brillinat attack in the French Defence to beat Last year's champion International Master Pratamesh Mokal (ELO 2529) of Maharastra. He finshied third and gets another shot at getting Granmaster title when he plays next in the commonwealth Chess Championship in Nagpur and the National ''A'' tournament later this year.


Story first published: Friday, September 26, 2008, 13:16 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 26, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...