AP, Chandigarh men declared joint winners

Chandigarh, Jun 30 (UNI) With heavy rain washing out the finals, Andhra Pradesh and hosts Chandigarh were declared joint winners in the men's category of the Senior National Softball Championship which concluded at the Panjab University Campus here today. The Madhya Pradesh and Kerala men were announced joint runners-up.

In men's semi-finals, Andhra Pradesh eked out a narrow 1-0 triumph over Madhya Pradesh with Karunakaran scoring the solitary home run for them and Chandigarh defeated Kerala by a lone home run scored by Sunder in the first innings. The second and third innings produced no results. As rain prevented further play, AP and Chandigarh emerged joint winners. Madhya Pradesh and Kerala were joint winners since rain prevented finals.

Meanwhile, in the women's category of 30th edition of the Senior Nationals, defending champions Punjab had to remain satisfied with joint winners position as they share the trophy with Kerala. Madhya Pradesh and Chandigarh were declared joint runners-up.

With Kerala already entering the women's final on the penultimate day on Sunday by beating Madhya Pradesh with a 3-1 margin in the semi-final, this morning Punjab, who were leading 3-0 after Chandigarh had finished their third innings before rain stopped the play on Sunday, rushed through their third innings to obtain a spot in the final. Chandigarh's lone home run was completed by Gurpreet Kaur. Veerapal Kaur, Reena and Arshi scored one home run each for Punjab.


Story first published: Monday, June 30, 2008, 20:34 [IST]
Other articles published on Jun 30, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...