Arbuzov unbeaten; Mahesh Tarapore advance into 2nd round

Mumbai, Dec 18 (UNI) World number 15 Russian sailor Andrey Arbuzov maintained his winning streak over nine races to finish the second day with a cent per cent record in the Provogue Mumbai International Match Race held in the waters off the H2O Complex at Chowpatty here today.

Arbuzov now leads six sailors out of the ten in the fray in the second round of the International Match Race.

There was good news for hosts India as R Mahesh and Farokh Tarapore also booked berth in the last six.

Arbuzov is leading the fray with nine points, followed by German Tino Ellegast, who has won eight out of nine races. In third place is R Mahesh with seven wins from nine races, followed by E Nikiforov with six out of nine. Tarapore is next with five out of nine, with Russian P Kochnev booking the last slot with four wins from nine.

Aashim Mongia, Swede John Back, and the other two Indians S Basheer and A Arvind are out of the competition.

The 42-year-old Arbuzov, who hails from Moscow, said the conditions and the weather in Mumbai suited him perfectly.

''The shifting winds and the humidity helped me. The same kinds of winds are prevalent in Moscow, where I practice, but it is much colder there,'' he said.

Though confident of making it to the final, Arbuzov was a bit weary of meeting R Mahesh in the final. ''He is a strong sailor and is also my very close friend,'' he said.

Mahesh, who also won all his three races on the second day, was not looking as far ahead as the finals. Instead, he preferred to concentrate on the six-team round robin league. He would obviously aim to finish either on top or in second placed to avoid meeting favourite Arbuzov in the last four.

Two times world champion Farokh Tarapore does not seem to have found his groove as yet in the J 24 Class boat and it remains to be seen how he makes up for his not too impressive showing in the round robin league tomorrow.

Following are the results: (Day 2) Andrey Arbuzov (Russia 9 wins from from 9 races (9 points) Ellegast Tino (Germany) 8 from 9 (8); R Mahesh (India) 7 from 9 (7); E Nikiforov (Russia) 6 from 9 (6); Farokh Tarapore (India) 5 from 9 (5);A Kochnev 4 from 9 (4) Aashim Mongia (India) 3 from 9 (3); John Back (Swededn) 1 from 9 (1)A Arvind (India) 1 from 9 (1); S Basheer (India) 1 from 9 (1).


Story first published: Wednesday, December 19, 2007, 20:52 [IST]
Other articles published on Dec 19, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...