Arvind Kumar, Ram Asrey, Shamsher Singh win gold

Kochi, Feb 16 (UNI) Arvind Kumar of BSF, Ram Asrey of Uttar Pradesh and Shamsher Singh of Chandigarh won the gold medals in the Men's 66 kg, 73kg and 81kg categories respectively in the 28th Senior National Judo Championship here today.

In the 66kg category for men, Santosh Mane of ITBP took the silver while the third place was shared between Sanju Singh of SSCB and Parvindar Honda of Railways.

In the 73kg, Karamveer Singh of CRPF came second while Kamaljeet Singh of Punjab and Satpal Chaudhary of Rajasthan took the bronze medals.

In the 81kg for men, Hadim Yama Singh of CRPF got the silver while Rajesh Kumar of BSF and Virendar Singh of ITBP got the bronze medals.

In the Women's 57kg category, Aruna of Haryana defeated L Nirupama Devi of CRPF to take gold while the bronze medals went to Gagandeep Kaur of Rajasthan and Surekha Shirsat of Maharashtra.

In the Women's 63kg, the gold was bagged by Garima Chaudhary of UP while the silver went to Rajendar Kaur of Jharkhand and bronze to Sangeeta Sharma of Madhya Pradesh and L Brajeshwari Devi of CRPF.

Anitha Janu of CRPF trounced Sajitha of Punjab to be top on the women's 52kg category while N Gomathi Janu of Assam and S Ibithombi of Jharkhand came third.


Story first published: Sunday, February 17, 2008, 8:59 [IST]
Other articles published on Feb 17, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...