Bangladesh's Siddikur Rahman wins Players Championship

Pune, Sep 5 (UNI) Mohd Siddikur Rahman of Bangladesh bagged his first professional title on the PGTI when play was abandoned on the final day of the Players Championship, while Gaganjeet Bhullar and C Muniyappa at finished joint second at the Poona Golf Club due to heavy rain here today.

Rahman was declared winner on the basis of the overall scores after round three. The Bangladeshi totaled 11 under 202 after the third round to be on top of the leaderboard.

With four strokes ahead of Yusuf Ali, Bhullar and Muniyappa, Rahman took home a cheque of Rs 4,84,950. The trio of Ali, Bhullar and Muniyappa finished tied second with the next best overall score of seven under 206.

All positions were decided as per the total scores after round three. The final day saw 30 golfers complete their respective rounds, while 24 were still on the course when the rain came down.

Siddikur's (66, 69, 67) win here has now helped him climb from 26th position to 12th place on the 2007-08 PGTI Order of Merit.

Rahman was two over for the day after 11 holes when the play was halted. He led by two strokes at nine under. Rahman had a rather quiet round today as he could only manage two bogeys on the second and 11th.

''I'm a very happy man today. This is not only my first win on the PGTI but also my first title outside Bangladesh. I was confident of winning today even if the round had been completed,'' said an elated Rahman, who has previously won a number of professional titles in his homeland.

He added, ''The win in Pune means a lot to me because it now gives me a lot of confidence for the rest of the season.'' Muniyappa (64, 70, 72), the second round leader, Gaganjeet Bhullar (73, 66, 67) and Ali (69, 69, 68) shared second place with an identical overall score of seven under 206.

Shamim Khan (73, 67, 67) and Ajeetesh Sandhu (69, 67, 71) ended the tournament in tied fifth at six under 207.

Chandigarh's Gurbaaz Mann (67, 70, 71) was seventh at five under 208. Rahul Ganapathy (69, 72, 70) and local lad Sachin Nigade (70, 71, 70) shared the ninth place at two under 211.

Veterans Mukesh Kumar (72, 72, 68) and Harmeet Kahlon (72, 73, 67) finished in tied 12th place with an identical total of one under 212. Mukesh has climbed to first on the PGTI Order of Merit.

He was second on the Order of Merit prior to the Players Championship here. Gurki Shergill and Neil Mundra, both Pune-based professionals, had an overall score of three over 216 and shared 23rd place.

Harendra Gupta and Rajiv Datar were tied 43rd at nine over 222.

Jaideep Patwardhan, another local professional, finished tied 49th as he totaled 10 over 223 after three rounds. Aditya Bhandarkar (72, 74, 78) of Pune won the crown as he was the highest placed amateur at 11 over 224. He finished in 51st position.


Story first published: Friday, September 5, 2008, 20:36 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 5, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...