Bengal to take on J

New Delhi, Nov 12 (UNI) Bengal will take on Jammu and Kashmir in the opening match of the 44th Junior National Football Championship to be held in Faridabad/Gurgaon from November 14 to 31.

In all, 28 teams will vie for top honours. They have been divided into eight clusters.

Gurgaon and Faridabad will host an equal number of clusters matches.

Defending champions Jharkhand is placed in cluster III along with Tripura and Delhi while last year's runners-up Bengal will face Gujarat and Kashmir in cluster II.

Hosts Haryana are in a relatively easy group with Rajasthan and Pondicherry.

Following are the clusters: Venue Gurgaon : Cluster I: Haryana, Rajasthan, Pondicherry.

Cluster II: West Bengal, Gujarat, Jammu and Kashmir.

Cluster III: Jharkahand, Tripura, Delhi Venue Faridabad : Cluster V: Punjab, Maarashtra, Bihar Nagaland.

Cluster VI: Goa, Meghalaya, Uttar Pradesh, Orissa.

Cluster VII: Tamil Nadu, Uttarkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram.

Cluster VIII: Karnataka, Manipur, Chattisgarh, Chandigarh.


Story first published: Monday, November 12, 2007, 20:34 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 12, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...