Bhopal's Priyadarshini School registers huge win in Nehru Cup Hock

New Delhi, Nov 4 (UNI) Spearheaded by Affan Yousuf who slammed six goals, Indira Priyadarshini Higher Secondary School, Bhopal (MP) trounced Behala Parnasree Higher Secondary School, Kolkata 11-0 in the 36th Nehru Junior Boys Hockey tournment here today.

Interestingly, in the one sided encounter, Indira Priyadarshini School led only 1-0 at the breather. The Bhopal school dominated the entire second half proceedings slamming 10 goals in their opponents goal. Other goal getters for the winners were Manohar Yadav, Mohniesh Yadav and Shakir Hasan who scored one each and Washim scored two goals.

In an another high scoring one sided match, NCC Directorate, Orissa thrashed S D Nagar Palika, Rajnandgoan (Chhattisgarh) 9-1.

The NCC team were 2-0 ahead at the half time. William Bara (four goals), Corneiius Ekka, Chaman Horo (two each) and Amardeep Ekka (one) were the scorers for the NCC side, while Manish Kumar was the lone goal getter for the losers.

Meanwhile, in the first match of the day, Motilal Nehru School of Sports, Rai had to battle hard to overcome G V Raja Sports School, Trivandrum (Kerala) 2-1.

Motilal Nehru School surged ahead in the 13th minute through Ajay Kumar, but the Kerala school equalised the lead in the 38th minute through Arun E J.

Sudhir Jagian then gave the Nehru School the winning goal in the 49th minute.


Read more about: sportshockeynehrujunior
Story first published: Sunday, November 4, 2007, 20:04 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 4, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...