Home » More Sports »BPCL team wins chess title

BPCL team wins chess title

Posted By: Pti

Panaji, Feb 18 (PTI) Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited(BPCL) team A comprising of Harikrishna P, Gopal GN,Parimarjan Negi and Abhijit Gupta scored nine match points towin the 22nd Petroleum Sports Promotion Board inter-unit chesstournament, played at Clube Gaspar Dias Hall in Miramar here.

The Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC) team Aconsisting of K Sasikiran, Koneru Humpy, Neelotpal Das, ViditGujrati and P Kongvel earned 8 points to finish runners-up.

India Oil''s team B finished third with 7 points.

BPCL won this tournament for the first time with newrecruitment in two Grandmasters -- Harikrishna P andParimarjan Negi.

A total of 13 Grandmasters, 11 International Masters, 2Women Grandmasters and one Women Fide Master participated inthis tournament.

After the completion of the team event GrandmastersHarikrishna P, Gopal G N, Sundarajan Kidambi, Arun Prasad,Abhijit Gupta and M R Venkatesh gave a display ofsimultaneous chess by playing with 42 Goan players.

Only Shane Braganza managed to hold Grandmaster ArunPrasad for a draw, rest all players lost.

Story first published: Friday, February 18, 2011, 15:45 [IST]
Other articles published on Feb 18, 2011
Please Wait while comments are loading...