Chopra, Kohli steer Delhi to strong position in Nissar trophy

New Delhi, Sept 16 (UNI) Led by a strong 196-run stand between opener Akash Chopra and Virat Kohli, Delhi made a stunning comeback to take a 110-run lead against Sui Northern Gas Pipeline Limited (SNGPL) in Mohammad Nissar Trophy at Feroz Shah Kotla here today.

At stumps, the Ranji Champions had reached 242 for one with Chopra batting on 93 and Kohli was giving him company on 91 after the Pakistani side was bowled out for 266.

Trailing by 132 runs, Delhi captain Virender Sehwag began in his characteristic fashion and clobbered the bowling to all parts of the ground.

Sehwag, in his 29-ball stay at the wicket smashed away 37 runs which included six hits to the fence and a towering six before the opener fell to first innings' hat-trick boy Imran Ali.

Chopra and Kohli then held the fort and made sure that their star-studded batting line up does not have to go through the same embarassment that it went in the first innings when the hosts were bundled out for a paltry 134.

The Delhi batsmen, in their second essay, looked more positive and were playing the bowling on its merit. Chopra did not try to do anything extraordinary and relied more on timing.

The opener's 93 came off 143 balls and had 10 well-timed fours.

First innings' half-centurion Kohli, looked in even better form as he piled on 91 runs with the help of 14 boundaries and both the batsmen looked to demolish the Pakistani hopes of winning their maiden Mohammad Nissar Trophy.

The Qaid-e-Azam champions from Pakistan looked a completely different bowling attack in the second innings and did not look penetrative enough to rattle the stumps Delhi batsmen.

For the Pakistani side, first innings' hero Imran Ali was the lone wicket taker but after that the visitors had to toil hard to fetch the leather.

Earlier in the day, resuming from 143 for six, Khurram Shehzad and Imran made sure that the visitors do not give away the advantage they took by bowling out the the Delhi team for a small total.

While Shehzad became a victim of leg-spinner Chetanya Nanda on 56, Rajat Bhatia brought Imran's downfall when he was on 36.

For Delhi, Ashish Nehra and Nanda bagged three wickets each while left-arm pacer Pradeep Sangwan claimed two wickets. Ishant Sharma had to be content with just one wicket that came in form of Imran Khalid.


Story first published: Tuesday, September 16, 2008, 19:05 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 16, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...