Get breaking news alerts from myKhel

Coffee Day Rally in Chikkamagaluru from December 12

Bengaluru, Dec 5: The much-awaited annual Coffee Day Rally has returned where motorsport enthusiasts can witness India's top rally drivers as they show exceptional driving skills in the picturesque town of Chikkamagaluru.

The event will be the sixth and final round of the FMSCI Indian Rally Championship (IRC) 2014 and will he held from December 12-14.

Rally drivers Karna Kadur, Rahul Kantharaj, Harshitha Gowda, Ritesh Guttedar, Dean Mascarenhas and Ashish Ramaswamy who will be seen in action

The event will see around 42 cars compete against one another on newly-created dirt routes in the lush green coffee estates of this motorsport-loving town.

Sponsored by Coffee Day in association with Turlube, organised by the Motor Sports Club of Chikmagalur (MSCC) and hosted by The Serai Resorts, Chikkamagaluru, the rally will be held under the aegis of the Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India (FMSCI).

The Rally will cover a total distance of 329.88 kms, with a Special Stage distance of 109.24 kms.

This year, the Rally will have three physical Special Stages viz Chattanahalli (10.70 kms), Kumergode (10.61 kms) and Chandrapura (14.21 kms).

The organisers said they would like to thank NC Arun, a former rallyist, whose Hullihundloo Estate is part of the Chattanahalli stage.

Start at Amber Valley School

The Rally will begin on December 12 at the Amber Valley School at 2.30 pm with the conduct of the Super Special Stage (Leg 1, Section 1). For the Super Special Stage, also called the Spectator Stage, the cars will start after four-minute intervals.

On December 13, the Leg 1, Section 2 will begin from the ABC premises at 8.00 am. On that day, the cars will run three stages twice each, while on December 14 (Leg 2), the cars will run all three stages once after an 8.00 am start. There will be special spectator viewing areas in all three stages.

The competitors to watch out for are Vikram Mathias in the Mitsubishi Evo IX, Samir Thapar in the Evo X and PG Abhilash in the Evo VII. These are powerful cars, capable of good speeds and therefore thrilling action.

The other star attractions will be 2013 Asia-Pacific Rally Champion Gaurav Gill, who will drive the Mahindra XUV500 for Team Mahindra Adventure with co-driver Musa Sherif. Gill and Sherif have already clinched the IRC Overall National title.

Rallyist's delight

In the IRC 2000 class, Bengaluru's Rahul Kanthraj-Vivek Bhatt (Team Yokohama) have also wrapped up the National title, while in the FMSCI 1600 class, Adith KC-Harish KN have clinched the National title.

In the IRC 1600 class, Phalguna Urs (Anoop Kumar) has 145 points, while Arjun Rao Aroor (Satish Rajagopal) has 115. This is where the battle will be.

Despite National champions being decided in several classes, the Coffee Day Rally is a rallyist's delight and it would not be wrong to assume that they will go flat out to ensure a thrilling and successful event.

Entry passes for the Super Special Stage in the Amber Valley School campus can be collected from the ABC premises (Chikkamagaluru), Coffee Day Square (Bengaluru), Cafe Coffee Day (Chikkamagaluru) and the MSCC office.

In Chikkamagaluru, they are also available at the More Supermarket, Orange Supermarket, Pai Associates, Vasant Vihar Lodging, Kids Avenue and Jack and Jill.

OneIndia News

For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

    Read more about: motor sports sports bengaluru
    Story first published: Friday, December 5, 2014, 11:52 [IST]
    Other articles published on Dec 5, 2014
    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Mykhel sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Mykhel website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more