CRPF win overall trophy in Police Games

Karnal, Oct 25 (UNI) With a haul of 15 gold, 12 silver and 12 bronze medals, Central Reserve Police Force emerged overall champions in the 57th All India Police Games (Wrestling Cluster), which concluded at Madhuban here today .

Punjab Police garnered 14 gold, 11 silver and 17 bronze medals to be declared overall runners-up in the medal tally. Border Security Force (9-11-17) and Central Industrial Security Force (5-1-13) finished third and fourth. Hosts Haryana claimed five gold, 10 silver and three bronze to occupy the fifth position.

Haryana got all their gold medals through boxers and won the team championship with 53 points. The hosts gold medalists in boxing were head constable Rajneesh Kumar (fly weight), constables Ajay Kumar (light welter), Surinder Singh (middle), Ravinder Kumar (light heavy) adn Krishan Kumar (heavy).

DGP Ranjeev Dalal, former working president of the Indian Amateur Boxing Association, presented them medals and announced their promotion to their next rank with immediate effect.

Punjab Police won the Greco-Roman style wrestling trophy with 61 points. Border Security Force and Central Industrial Security Force were tied for the runners-up position with an identical points tally of 53. With BSF winning more number of gold medals, they were declared second.

In the freestyle competitions, BSF emerged champions with 51 points while Punjab Police were runners-up with 46 points. The third place went to hosts Haryana Police with 37 points.

Star-studded Central Reserve Police Force dominated the weightlifting competitions. They logged 202 points to grab the championship and pushed Punjab Police to second position with 196 points. BSF had to remain themselves satisfied with the third position with 175 points.

In the women's weightlifting championship, CRPF (193), Uttar Pradesh (115) and CISF (92) finished in that order. BSF cornered glory in the gymnatic championship with 490.695 points. Haryana and Punjab (472.255 points apiece) were jointly declared runners-up.

Indo-Tibetan Border Police were third with 398.75 points. Dipesh Sahu (BSF) was adjuged the best all-around gymnast. The second position went to Mayank Srivastava (CRPF) and Krishan Kumar (BSF) were second and third, respectively.

Union Home Minister Shivraj Patil was the chief guest and distributed the prizes.


Story first published: Saturday, October 25, 2008, 22:03 [IST]
Other articles published on Oct 25, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...