Home » More Sports »Deccan Chargers humble Delhi Daredevils with a 10-run victory

Deccan Chargers humble Delhi Daredevils with a 10-run victory

Posted By: Staff

New Delhi, March 21 (ANI): Deccan Chargers registered a 10-run victory over Delhi Daredevils in the Indian Premier League encounter at Barabati stadium here on Sunday, courtesy Andrew Symonds who took three wickets for 21 runs.

Though stand-in skipper Dinesh Karthik, who scored 46 off 27 balls led his side from the front but he couldn't carry his team to victory, as he was caught and bowled by Symonds in the 19th over.

Opener David Warner (57 off 33 balls) gave an explosive start to his team while Karthik slammed 4 fours and two sixes in his 27-ball blitzkrieg.

Daredevils lost AB de Villiers (27) and David Warner (57) in quick succession after going smoothly in their 172-run target chase.

Just after Warner's wicket fell, Rahul Sharma bowled AB de Villiers in the 13th over and offered a major boost to Deccan Chargers defending a modest 171/6 total.

David Warner (57) completed his second 50 of the tournament before getting run out in the 11th over to RP Singh's find throw.

Warner hit 4 fours and four sixes in his power-packed 33-ball inning to lead the Daredevils run chase.

Daredevils lost opener Virender Sehwag early; in the fourth over after playing unusually slow inning and getting out for just 3 runs off 7 balls, as Pragyan Ojha struck in his first over.

Earlier, Rohit Sharma (45) and Tirumalsetti Suman (29 not out) put on a valuable 60-run fifth wicket partnership to help Deccan post 171/6 against Daredevils.

Rohit Sharma smashed three fours and three sixes in his 30 balls stay to resurrect Deccan innings in the late overs to help Chargers post a respectable 172-run target to defend before he got out in the 19th over. He was supported by young Suman who hit three fours and a six in his 19-ball inning.

Andrew Symonds (35 off 24 balls) was going great before giving a simple catch to AB de Villiers off Moises Henriques' delivery in the 14th over.

Yogesh Nagar got the prize scalp of Herschelle Gibbs (31 off 26 balls) in the tenth over to put a temporary break on the Deccan's run charge. Gibbs hit two fours and two over the ropes in his 26-ball stay in the ground. eccan Chargers: Adam Gilchrist (capt/wk), Andrew Symonds, Chaminda Vaas, Herschelle Gibbs, Monish Mishra, Pragyan Ojha, Rahul Sharma, Rohit Sharma, RP Singh, Tirumalsetti Suman, Venugopal Rao

Delhi Daredevils: AB de Villiers, Amit Mishra, David Warner, Dinesh Karthik (capt/wk), Dirk Nannes, Mithun Manhas, Moises Henriques, Sarabjit Ladda, Umesh Yadav, Virender Sehwag, Y Nagar

Deccan skipper Adam Gilchrist had won the toss and chose to bat against Daredevils. (ANI)

Story first published: Sunday, March 21, 2010, 21:41 [IST]
Other articles published on Mar 21, 2010
Please Wait while comments are loading...