Delhi Super League begins tomorrow

New Delhi, Dec 28 (UNI) Ten top clubs, including defending champions Indian Air Force, will vie for top honours in the SAIL-ONGC Delhi Senior Division Football Super League starting tommorow.

The ten teams, which made it to the Super League after preliminary rounds, have been divided into two groups of five in the tournament to be played in league-cum-knock-out basis at the Ambedkar Stadium.

Top two teams from each group will qualify for the semi-finals and the final is scheduled for January 21.

The winner team will get Rs one lakh while the runners-up team will be richer by Rs 50,000. The two losing semi-finalists will receive Rs 25,000 each.

G4S-Hindustan FC will take on Shahdara FC in the inaugural match tomorrow.

Meanwhile, DSA Secretary NK Bhatia said the League Sub-Committee of the association has decided to take stern action on report by Match Commissioner on any malpractice by clubs during the Super League.

Group A: Digi Max Indian National FC, G4S-HIndustan FC, Peerles Tarun Sangha, SAIL City, Shahdara FC Group B: Osians' New Delhi Heroes, Trackon Garhwal Heroes, Indian Air Force, Shastri FC, Hind Ahbab UNI

Story first published: Friday, December 28, 2007, 17:35 [IST]
Other articles published on Dec 28, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...