Dravid, Raut post double each in Junior Athletic meet

Pune, Aug 7 (UNI) Internationals Sayali Dravid and long distance ace Rohini Raut posted a profitable double each in the Pune Mayor's trophy 20th West Zone Junior Athletic championship, which concluded at the Baburao Sanas sports complex here.

While in the men's category, Dhiraj Mishra claimed the gold by winning the triple jump event, enabling hosts Maharashtra to sweep aside all opposition to dominate the second day's proceedings today.

Dravid, continuing with her brilliant form, went on to capture the gold in the 200 meters sprint event today in 26.8 seconds and thus completed a brilliant sprint double in the girls under-20 section.

She had won the 100 metres dash yesterday in 12.1 seconds.

Long distance ace Raut, who had won the demanding 5,000 meters run on the opening day yesterday, also was in fine fettle to bag the gold, winning the 3,000 meters event today in the girls under-20 section and also recorded a fine double. Her sister Monica took the silver, while Umeshwari Tekam bagged the bronze.

Dhiraj Mishra kept Maharashtra's hopes alive to garner a berth in the Indian squad for the 2008 Commonwealth Youth Games (CYG) by claiming the gold in the triple jump event for boys under-20. He leapt to a distance of 14.82 meters and got the better off of Nitin of Gujarat and Virender Yadav of Chhatisgarh in the bargain. Nitin took the silver and Yadav the bronze.

Results: Boys (Under 20) 10,000 Meters: Sandeep Tyde (Mah) 1, Anil Pawar (Mah) 2, Dharmendra Rai (MP) 3. Time 32:41:5.

110 Hurdles: Chetan Patil (Mah) 1, Ravidrasingh Shekhawat (Guj) 2, Ajit Shukla (MP) 3. Time 15.00 Secs.

Boys (Under 18) 110 Meters Hurdles: Saba Bhagat ( Mah) 1, Siddharth Thinglia (Mah) 2, Ranjit Kumar (Raj) 3. Time: 14.2 secs.

Long Jump: Ankit Sharma (MP) 1, Saba Bhagat (Mah) 2, Tejas Salian (Mah) 3. Dist: 7.18 Mtrs.

High Jump: Navin Singh (Mah) 1, Sachinkumar Pal (MP) 2, Dugesh Khare (MP) 3. Height: 2.0 Mtrs.

Boys (Under 16) 100 Meters Hurdles: Dilip Kumar (Guj) 1, Ajay Mishra (Mah) 2, Shrikant Kulange (Mah) 3. Time 14.00 Secs.

High Jump: Pravin Upadhya (Mah) 1, Sandeep Khan (Mah) 2, Hemantkumar Yadav (MP) 3. Height: 6.26 Mtrs.

400 Metres: Amol T J (Mah) 1, Durgeshkumar Pal (Mah) 2, Basantlal Patel (MP) 3. Time 50.6 Secs.

Boys (Under 14) Shot Put: Abhishek Bhilare (Mah) 1, Anand Wankhede (MP) 2. Dist: 9.87 Mtrs.

600 Meters: Vikram Rithe (Mah) 1, Nilesh Salare (Mah) 2, Sombir Barot (Guj) 3. Time: 1.31:00.

Long Jump: Varun Sane (Mah) 1, Ravidas Rathod (Mah) 2, Jasent Cardozo (Goa) 3. Dist:5.71 Mtrs.

Triathlon: Pravin Singh Chavan (MP) (1494 pts) 1, Somduram (Chhatisgarh) (1472 pts) 2, Akshay Atambe (Mah) (1226 pts) 3.

Girls (Under 20) 200 Meters: Sayali Dravid (Mah) 1, Sonali Gargote (Mah) 2, Shrin Khan (MP) 3. Time 26.8 Secs.

100 Meters Hurdles: Dhanlaxmi Krishnan (Mah) 1, Devanshi Patel (Guj) 2. Time: 17.8 Secs.

Girls (Under 18) 200 Meters: Dipika Kotiyan (Mah) 1, Priyaranjana Sohoni (MP) 2, Akansha Bharghav (MP) 3. Time 27.2 Secs.

Shot Put: Vaishnavi Zare (Mah) 1, Kanishtha (Guj) 2, Pranita Natraj (Mah) 3. Dist: 9.74 Mtrs.

Girls (Under 16) 200 Meters: Tanvi Shanbag (Mah) 1, Pooja Patil (Mah) 2. Time: 25.9 Secs.

100 Metres Hurdles: Komal Chavdarsoma (Guj) 1, Sharnya (Chhatisgarh) 2, Priyanka (Chhatishgarh) 3. Time: 19.9 Secs.

High Jump: Nikita Kochrekar (Mah) 1, Devashri Shah (Guj) 2, Juaily Badhe (Mah) 3. Height: 1.34 Mtrs.

Shot Put: Sara Vora (Mah) 1, Priyadarshani Jagoste (Mah) 2, Jesari Pereira (Guj) 3. Dist: 9.05 Mtrs.

Girls (Under 14) 600 Metres: Talulah Briganza (Goa) 1, Insiya Thanawala (Mah) 2, Megha Parwar (MP) 3. Time: 1.48:8.

High Jump: Nikita Kochrekar (Mah) 1, Devashri Shah (Guj) 2, Juaily Badhe (Mah) 3. Height: 1.34 Mtrs.

Long Jump: Madhur Anjarlekar (Mah) 1, Sania Ichaporiya (Mah) 2, Shevangi Mehta (Guj) 3. Dist: 4.80 Mtrs.


Story first published: Thursday, August 7, 2008, 20:05 [IST]
Other articles published on Aug 7, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...