Home » More Sports » Dzhumaev continues his winning spree

Dzhumaev continues his winning spree

New Delhi, Jan 17 (UNI) Grandmaster Marat Dzhumaev of Uzbekistan produced some great moves to continue his winning spree as he defeated top seed GM Ehsan Ghaem Maghami of Iran in the seventh round of the Sixth Parsvnath International Chess tournament here today.

Dzhumaev registered his seventh victory on the trot and made sure to keep the nearest contender GM Surya Shekhar Ganguly a half point behind, even as the latter showed some imaginative chess to beat G B Prakash.

Tomorrow, Ganguly and Dzhumaev will be face-to-face and it will be the decisive contest regarding the winner of the event.

As many as six players share the third spot on Six points a piece.

They are Grandmasters Elizbar Ubilava of Spain, Saidali Iuldachev of Uzbekistan, Nguyen Anh Dung of Vietnam, Ziaur Rahaman of Bangladesh, GM-in-waiting Abhijeet Gupta and Debashish Das who staked his claim for an IM norm at the expense of GM norm holder Ashwin Jayaram.

Dzhumaev went for complications against Maghami who played the Sicilian defense as black.

It was a Rossolimo attack by the Uzbek that led to a wild position after he sacrificed a piece for just a pawn early in the opening.

Maghami was quick to recover from this jolt as he gave back the extra material and managed a reasonable position.

However, with exchanges at regular intervals, Dzhumaev converted to a better rook and pawns endgame where Maghami was simply outsmarted.

It was a long battle that ensued between Ganguly and Prakash on second board where the former gained with every exchange.

In his bid to equalise, Prakash miscalculated his chances in the king and pawns endgame and Ganguly's calculation proved just perfect. The game lasted 64 moves and Ganguly was down to his last pawn when Prakash resigned.

Seventh round (Indians unless specified): Marat Dzhumaev (Uzb, 7) beat Ehsan Ghaem Maghami (Iri, 5.5 ); Surya Shekhar Ganguly (6.5) beat G B Prakash (5.5); Igor Kurnosov (Rus,5.5) drew with Elizbar Ubilava (Esp, 6); K Ratnakaran (5.5) drew with Abhijit Kunte (5.5); Saidali Iuldachev (Uzb, 6) beat Pravin Thipsay (5); S. Arun Prasad (5) lost to Nguyen Anh Dung (Vie, 6); Enamul Hossain (Ban, 5.5) drew with Tania Sachdev (5.5); Abhijeet Gupta (6) beat Zhanibek Amanov (Kaz, 5); Ziaur Rahman (Ban, 6) beat Bitan Banerjee (5); Debashis Das (6) beat Aswin Jayaram (5).


Story first published: Thursday, January 17, 2008, 22:04 [IST]
Other articles published on Jan 17, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...