E Bengal to honour club IFA Shield heroes of 1970

Kolkata, Sep 24 (UNI) Ahead of ONGC I-League campaigner, East Bengal made an elaborate arrangement to felicitate club's winning players of 1970's IFA Shield and victorious Indian squad in the AFC Challenge Cup in a colourful programme tomorrow.

EB's general secretary Kalyan Majumder today said the club's victory in the IFA Shield final against Iran's Pas Club was a major landmark in the post-independence era.

He said Mohun Bagan's IFA Shield triumph in 1911 was a historical moment, but EB's victory in 1970 against then Asian giant was the best for any Indian club in post independence era.

Iran was the then Asian giant and Pas Club were then winner champion club of Iran.

1970 team captain Santo Mitra, who addressed a news conference, said barring three players all others, who played for the winning side would be present in the felicitation programme to be held at Netaji Indoor Stadium at 1600 hours tomorrow.

He said of the three absentee, mid-fielder Kajal Mukherjee died, centre forward Ashok Chatterjee was hospitalised with chest infection and outstation player K B Sharma has pre-occupation.

Md Habib, Parimal Dey, Peter Thangaraj, Shyam Thapa and all others would be present at the felicitation. The winning side would also play an exhibiton with East Bengal trade group.

East Bengal take on United SC, a local challenge, in the second I-League at Barasat on Friday. Captain Alvito De Cunha was also named club ambassador for 2008 today.


Story first published: Wednesday, September 24, 2008, 20:36 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 24, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...