Home » More Sports » Easy wins for Minerva CA and State Bank of Mysore

Easy wins for Minerva CA and State Bank of Mysore

Chandigarh, Sep 18 (UNI) An undefeated century by opener Rajinder Bisth enabled Minerva Cricket Academy rout LIC Cricket Club by seven wickets on the second day of the 14th All India J P Atray Memorial Cricket Tournament at the Sector 3 Cricket Stadium in Panchkula today.

Rajinder slammed unblemished 144 from 138 balls and reached the fence 17 times and also hit two sixes during his 180-minute vigil at the wicket.

With this win Minerva CA secured four points while Rajinder Bisth was voted Man of the match.

Batting first after winning the toss LIC scored 236 for 6 in the allotted 50 overs. They were helped by Bageshwar Bisth (43, 4x4s), Anshul Kapoor (40, 2x4s), Rahat Elahi (56 not out, 4x4s) and Manu Kumar (37, 4x4s, 1x6). Ajit Chandela (2 for 40) and Kuldeep Dhiman (2 for 34) were the main wicket takers for Minerva CA.

In reply Minerva surpassed the LIC total scoring 238 for 3 in 41.4 overs. Rajinder Bisth, who remained not out on 144 in 138 balls, and Safiq Khan (31 not out , 4x4s) were the architect of Minerva's facile win. Rajinder and Safiq Khan were involved in an unfinished stand of 89 runs for the fourth wickets.

Rajinder earlier, had an opening stand of 51 with Chetan Sharma (26) and third wicket stand of 85 runs with Vishal Sahni (23). .

Meanwhile, at the DAV Senior Secondary School ground in Sector 8, State Bank of Mysore defeated Tripura Cricket Association by 74 runs.

Winning the toss Tripura CA opted to field. State Bank of Mysore scored 229 for 9 in the allotted 50 overs.

M K Manjunath (68, 10x4s) and late surge by tailenders Anand Katti (37 not out, 2x4s, 3x6s) and N Arvind (18 not out) propped up their innings. B Gopesh (3 for 33), Tushar (2 for 32) and Subal Chao (2 for 29) were the main successful bowlers for Tripura CA.

In reply, Tripura CA innings folded for 155 runs in 38.5 overs thus losing the match by 74 runs. State bank of Mysore got five points and Tripura CA finished with 1 point.

R Saha (31) and Rajesh Banik (28) were the main contributors for Tripura CA. K S Sai (4 for 30) and A Katti (2 for 4) were the main wicket takers for State Bank of Mysore. A Katti won the man of the match award.


Story first published: Wednesday, September 19, 2007, 19:46 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 19, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...