Fancied teams win, Bank of India disqualified

Mumbai, Nov 23 (UNI) Fancied Bharat Petroleum, Maharashtra State Police in the men's section and Suvarnayug (Pune) and Shivshakti of Mumbai among the women had easy outings in the Aamdar Chashak state level kabaddi tournament organized by the Swami Samarth Kreeda Mandal at Prabhadevi here today.

But the day was marred by a 'walk-out' staged by Bank of India protesting an umpiring decision which they claimed had gone against them. Instead of registering a 'protest' the only way to redress their grievance, BOI preferred to walk-out and get disqualified and the match awarded to Air India, who were leading 7-4 at that stage.

Bharat Petroleum crushed RCF 45-10 and then beat Mumbai Police 6-4 in a drab encounter qualified for the last eight stage and so did the city cops. Also making the quarterfinal birth were Central Railway and Pune City Police as they both got the better of ONGC at 8-6 and 36-13 respectively to oust the latter.

Suvarnayug led by international Sumati Pujari won both their matches to advance to the round of eight. Kishori Kolekar and Deepika Joseph stood out for the team from across the ghats as they beat Veermata Jijau 32-16 and Amar Hind Mandal 45-22.

Shivshakti experienced some initial resistance from Rachana (Nasik) who surprisingly led 14-12 at the halfway mark. But once Meghali Korgaonkar and Shivshakti's international, Sapana Patil started raiding according to their reputation it seemed all over for the Nasik side. Added to that was the timely and precise catching by Suvarna Bartakke. The Mumbai girls romped home 40-21 to show their supremacy.

Western Railway caused a mild flutter when they beat fancied Air-India 33-17 after BOI were shown the way out as per the rules by the organizers who met immediately after the bankmen walked out.

Nilesh Chindarkar (BOI) and Jayashree Suvarna (Vishwashanti) were the best raiders on day one while Anilkumar (WR) and Kavita Kadam (Ankur) were chosen best defenders and were given special prizes.

RESULTS: WOMEN: Suvarnayug (Pune) bt. Amar Hind Mandal 45-22, Suvarnayug bt. Veermata Jijau 32-16; Rachna Sports (Nasik) bt. Hotkaru (Thane) 44-15; Shivshakti bt. Rachna (Nasik) 40-21 ; Chhatrapati Mandal (Thane) bt. Navmaharashtra 22-13.

Men: Pune Shahar Police bt. ONGC 36-13; Bharat Petroleum bt. RCF 45-10; Central Railway bt. ONGC 8-6; Air India bt. BOI 7-4 (BOI walked out); Maharashtra State Police bt. Kalyan Dombivli Municipal Corpn. 42-20; BPCL bt. Mumbai Police 6-4 ; Western Railway bt. Air India 33-17.


Story first published: Friday, November 23, 2007, 21:35 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 23, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...