Home » More Sports » Forty six in fray: Surya Sekhar to defend National 'A' title

Forty six in fray: Surya Sekhar to defend National 'A' title

Chennai, Jan 31 (UNI) The 45th National ''A'' Chess Championship will be held here from February 3 to 15, All India Chess Federation(AICF) Secretary D V Sundar announed today.

Addressing a press conference here at the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA) Club, the venue, he said reigning national champion Surya Sekhar Ganguly from Kolkatta will be defending his title which he had won successively for the last four years.

Forty six players, including 11 Grand Masters, one Woman Grand Master, 21 International Masters and one FIDE Master will be vying for honours in the 13 round Swiss league system.

The total prize money would be Rs 4 lakhs with the winner taking home Rs One lakh, he said.

As many as 21 International Masters in this championship will have the opportunity to obtain the Grand Master norm, while 14 players without the IM title can obtain IM norms.

Every year, one national championship of a country will be treated by FIDE as a title tournament without the participation of foreign players.

Thirty qualifiers from the National ''B'', the top six players from the previous National ''A'' who are not GMs, the national junior champion and a nominee of the AICF Secretary, will also be participating in the championship.


Story first published: Thursday, January 31, 2008, 18:43 [IST]
Other articles published on Jan 31, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...