Gaurav Gill and Musa Sherif win Rally of Maharashtra

Posted By: IANS

Nashik, June 14: Reigning national champion Gaurav Gill and co-driver Musa Sherif claimed the Overall title by a sizeable margin in the Mahindra Adventure Rally of Maharashtra, the second round of the Indian Rally Championship which concluded here on Sunday.

Reports: Day 1; Day 2

Gill, the 33-year old Delhi-based 2013 Asia Pacific champion sealed his 5th Rally of Maharashtra title after the two concluding rounds of the Spectator Special Stage that were run on Sunday, winning by a margin of three minutes 59 seconds.

Gaurav Gill (3rd left) and co-driver Musa Sherif (4th left) flanked by second placed Arjun Rao Aroor (extreme left) and Sathish Rajagopal, and third placed Amittrajit Ghosh and Ashwin Naik (right).

While Gill cruised to victory in the Rally, organised by the Western India Sports Association, the drive of the day came from Mangaluru's Arjun Rao Aroor (co-driver Sathish Rajagopal) who, driving the Volkswagen Polo R2 made up a 10-second overnight deficit and pipped Mahindra Adventure's Amittrajit Ghosh (Ashwin Naik) by just one second to finish second Overall.

Ghosh and Aroor were tied going into the final run of the Spectator Special Stage. "I just didn't think how much time I had to make up, but drove the car to its limits. I am extremely happy that I managed to make one place to finish second," said Aroor.

Gill was pleased as punch in scoring his 21st win with Sherif over the past eight years. "I just love the Rally of Maharashtra. The Special Stages are very technical and fast which suit my driving style. Obviously, it is great to start the domestic season on a winning note and we hope to carry forward the momentum," said Gill.

Finishing behind the top three was Mysuru's Lohitt Urs (Srikant Gowda) in a Mitsubisihi EVO VIII that arrived in Nashik barely hours before the Rally commenced on Friday.

Meanwhile, Bengaluru's Rahul Kanthraj and his co-driver of 15 seasons, Vivek Bhatt, driving a Mitsubishi Cedia for Team Yokohama, comfortably won the IRC 2000cc class where he faced little or no competition.

Topping the IRC 1600cc class was 21-year old Dean Mascarenas from Mangaluru and co-driver Sudipta Padival in a VW Polo.

In the FMSCI 1600 Cup, Dhruva C (Jeeva Rathinam) took the honours in the Honda City V-Tec, as he easily held on to a big overnight lead.

Gaurav Gill and Musa Sherif in action on the final day

Provisional, Final classification

IRC Overall: Gaurva Gill/Musa Sherif (Mahindra Adventure, Mahindra XUV 500) 1 (01 Hr, 31mins, 28secs); Arjun Rao Aroor/Sathish RajagopalA (Volkswagen Polo R2) 2 (01:35:27); Amittrajit Ghosh/Ashwin Naik (Mahindra Adventure, Mahindra XUV 500) 3 (01:35:28).

IRC 2000cc: Rahul Kanthraj/Vivek Bhatt (Team Yokohama, Cedia) 1 (01:38:06); Hrishikesh Thackersey/Ninad Mirajgaonkar (VW Polo) 2 (01:41:52); Sumit Panjabi/Sagar M (Cedia) 3 (01:43:36).

IRC 1600cc: Dean Mascarenhas/Sudipta Padiwal (VW Polo) 1 (01:38:17); Dr Biku Babu/George Milen (VW Polo) 2 (01:42:12); Vikram Rao Aroor/AG Somayya (VW Polo) 3 (01:44:44).

FMSCI 1600 Cup: Dhruva C/Jeeva Rathinam (Honda City V-Tec) 1 (01:44:49); Ashwin Reddy Daram/Salman Shahid (Rally Cross, Honda City V-Tec) 2 (01:45:43); Adith KC/Harish KN (Kari Sports, Honda City V-Tec) 3 (01:46:10).


Story first published: Sunday, June 14, 2015, 16:54 [IST]
Other articles published on Jun 14, 2015
Please Wait while comments are loading...