Home » More Sports » Gaurav Gill wins APRC Rally of Indonesia

Gaurav Gill wins APRC Rally of Indonesia

New Delhi, Aug 25 (UNI) Indian driver Gaurav Gill has won the 2008 Rally of Indonesia by nearly two minutes with his Mitsubishi team-mate Katsu Taguchi finishing second.

After being 4.5 seconds of taking the lead Cody Crocker slipped to third with a puncture on Stage 12.

The first three stages of day two were a great battle between Taguchi, Gill and Crocker.

Taguchi was fastest of the three drivers over the three stages, but Gill managed to hold the gap to Crocker to 4.5 seconds heading back to mid-day service.

On Stage 12 it was Crocker's turn to have a puncture dropping the Australian to third, two minutes behind Taguchi. With only two stages to run Gill was uncatchable and went on to win his first major international rally.

''We set some good times yesterday but then we had a gearbox problem and had to limp through the stages, but then the other guys had punctures and problems too - I'm learning all the time, this is what APRC is all about,'' said a victorious Gaurav Gill.


Story first published: Monday, August 25, 2008, 13:34 [IST]
Other articles published on Aug 25, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...