Hard-fought victory for CISF

Chandigargh, Sep 23 (UNI) Central Industrial Security Force scored a hard-fought 5-4 verdict against a never-say-die Ropar Hawks in the interesting first-round match of the 38th SN Vohra's All-India Gurmit Hockey Tournament at the Sector 42 Sports Complex here today.

The winners scored through Compal Lakra (19th, 56th), Mangra Munda (26th, 32nd)and Bharat Kumar (50th). Jagroop Singh (47th), Dhanwinder (68th), Sukhdeep (66th) and Karanpal Singh (6th) reduced the margin for Ropar Hawks, who were defeated but not disgraced.

In a day-night first-round match Indian Air Force outplayed Punjab State Electricity Board by 5-1. Indian Air Force's main star Sanjay Yadav, who netted three goals, no hat-trick. He scored in the 34th, 36th and 60th minutes. Raminder Singh (52nd) and Sanwar Ali (59th) contributed one goal each.

The solitary goal for the powermen was scored by Amrik Singh, who converted a penalty corner in the 46th minute.

Ropar Hawks shocked IAF by forging ahead through Karanpal Singh, who converted a penalty corner in the sixth minute. CISF neutralised the lead in the 19th minute through Compal Singh scored a field goal. Then Mangra Munda scored two goals within a span of six minutes to give CISF a 3-1 lead. He struckin the 26th and 32nd minute.

Ropar Hawks was awarded eight penalty corners. In the 47th minute Jagroop beat the CISF defence with a good try of the penalty corner. CISF was awarded a penalty stroke and Bharat Kumar converted it with an ease in the 50th minute. Six minutes later Compal completed his second goal.

Ropar Hawks scored two quick goals to narrow the victory margin. Sukhdeep and Jaskaran scored field goals in the 66th and 68th minutes. The team converted two penalty corners out of eight awarded to them.

CISF forced only two penalty corners in the 44th and 43rd minutes.

They wasted both chances. The second match between Punjab State Electricity Board (PSEB) and Indian Air Force turned out to be a one-sided affair with the latter virtually controlling the game.

It must be given credit to PSEB that they held seasoned campaigners Indian Air Force to a goalless draw till 34th minute, when they conceded the first goal. However, after that the powermen were on the defensive and conceded more goals. One minute before the half time, Sanjay Yadav gave IAF the lead with a field goal. Two minutes later, he converted a penalty corner to make it 2-0 for IAF.

Sanjay struck his third goal and team's fifth goal in the 60th minute. Raminder and Sanwar got one each to increase the victory margin. Amrik Singh got the face-saving goal for PSEB in the 46th minute by converting a penalty corner.

Tomorrow's fixtures: BSF Mohali vs South Central Railway (1600 hrs) and Chandigarh XI vs Rail Coach Factory (1745 hrs).


Story first published: Wednesday, September 24, 2008, 11:28 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 24, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...