Home » More Sports » Haryana announces Bhim Award for 6 sports persons

Haryana announces Bhim Award for 6 sports persons

Chandigarh, June 2 (UNI) The Haryana Government has decided to confer state's highest sports honour, the 'Bhim Award', upon six players, including a physically challenged person, for their outstanding performance in national and international sports meets at a function to be organised at Haryana Raj Bhawan here on June 4.

While stating this here today, an official spokesman said that among those, who would be honoured with the award include Vijender, a Boxer from Bhiwani, Manoj Kumar of district Rohtak who would be awarded for his outstanding performance in shooting, Mr Bhupinder Singh of district Faridabad who would be awarded for his outstanding performance in the field of Athletics, Ms Jyodeep Kaur of Shahbad, district Kurukshetra, who would be honoured for her outstanding performance in Hockey and Wrestler Meena Devi of district Bhiwani.

The only physically challenged person to get the Bhim Award is Mr Girraj Singh of district Faridabad. He had participated in 12th Paralympics held at Athens in 2004 and had won three medals in seventh Senior National Paralympic Athletic Championship in the races of 200 meters, 400 meters and 800 meters.

Each recipient of 'Bhim Award' would get Rs one lakh in cash an idol of Bhim, a scroll, a blazer and tie or scarf.

The spokesman said that it has also been decided to honour Deputy Director, Hockey Baldev Singh for his significant role in grooming women hockey players of international level.

Mr Baldev Singh, posted at Shahbad would be honoured with cash award of Rs 10 lakh for his significant role in grooming five women hockey players, who had won Silver medal at 18th Common Wealth Games in 2006. Six women hockey players groomed by him had won Silver in 15th Asian Games. As many as 11 international players of Haryana trained by him have already been honoured with Bhim Award.

The government has also decided to honour 10 other sportspersons on the same day for their outstanding performance. They are boxers namely Sunil Kumar of district Bhiwani, Chhotu Lora of Hisar and Wrestler, Narender of district Sonepat. Each of them would be awarded Rs one lakh in cash.

The two vollyball players each of whom would be given Rs 61,000 in cash included Gurpreet Singh and Sube Singh of Panchkula. Another volleyball player of Panchkula, Sanjay Kumar would get Rs 51,000 in cash. Kabaddi player Ramesh Kumar of district Hisar, Judo player Parwinder of district Faridabad would get Rs 51,000 each.

Similarly, two Wrestlers, Anmol of district Hisar and Surender of district Sonepat would be honoured with Rs 50,000 each.


Story first published: Monday, June 2, 2008, 17:44 [IST]
Other articles published on Jun 2, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...