Home » More Sports » Haryana fail to remove last MP batsman, settle for a draw

Haryana fail to remove last MP batsman, settle for a draw

Rohtak, Dec 12 (UNI) Haryana failed to remove the last Madhya Pradesh batsman and failed to enforce a win in the four-day Ranji Trophy Elite Group 'B' match on the fourth and final day here today.

The match finally ended in a draw as the visitors finished on 169 for nine.

Resuming on their overnight score of 75 for seven, Haryana could add only 39 runs before being bundled out for 114.

Overnight batsmen, G Vashisht and Billa, were trapped leg before by Sanjay Pandey as he finished with match figures of five for 38.

Needing 202 runs to win, MP started on a shaky note as both their openers were back in the pavilion at the score on 21.

Openers NV Ojha (5) and Saxena (8) were clean-bowled by Billa and Rana respectively.

Billa bowled some fiery spells as he claimed four wickets for 52 runs. Haryana did not let MP to take a firm grip over the match as the visitors lost wickets at regular intervals.

A couple of MP batsmen did get starts but failed to capitalise on them before a tight bowling by the hosts.

Rahul Bakshi (27) and BR Tomar (24) tried but could not carry on to post a win from there.

Apart from Billa, Mishra and Joginder Sharma bagged two wickets while S Rana picked up one wicket for the hosts.

Jadhav and Pandey were the two not out batsmen for the visitors at the end of the final day's play to save the day and eventually the match for MP.

Scoreboard: Haryana 1st innings 302 all out Madhya Pradesh 1st innings 215 all out Haryana 2nd innings: MR Beerala lbw b Pandey 16 A Mishra c Ojha b Pandey 13 Sumeet Sharma c Tomar b Dholpure 2 A Lavasa lbw b Dholpure 22 S Rana b Pandey 1 SS Viswanathan b Dholpure 6 Joginder Sharma c Dholpure b Saxena 5 G Vashisht lbw b Pandey 4 JT Billa lbw b Pandey 20 P Prateek c Ojha b Golwalkar 19 Sandeep Singh not out 0 Extras: (LB 2 NB 4) 6 Total: (in 45.3 overs) 114 all out Fall of wickets: 1/28 2/34 3/34 4/36 5/49 6/68 7/68 8/86 9/108 10/114 Bowling: S Pandey 17-3-38-5, Sunil M Dholpure 20-3-49-3 YA Golwalkar 2.3-0-9-1, JS Saxena 4-0-9-1 M Ali 2-0-7-0, Madhya Pradesh 2nd innings (target: 202 runs) NV Ojha b Billa 5 JS Saxena b Rana 8 Jatin S Saxena lbw b Joginder Sharma 12 D Bundela c Rana b Billa 18 Rahul Bakshi b Mishra 27 BR Tomar c Sandeep Singh b Billa 24 M Ali lbw b Mishra 17 A Jadhav not out 26 Sunil M Dholpure lbw b Joginder Sharma 1 YA Golwalkar c Rana b Billa 0 S Pandey not out 6 Extras: (B 4 LB 13 NB 8) 25 Total: (in 73.3 overs) 169 for 9 Fall of wickets: 1/17 2/21 3/48 4/61 5/98 6/126 7/136 8/146 9/154 Bowling: S Rana 14-4-21-1, Joginder Sharma 16-8-22-2 JT Billa 20.3-3-52-4, A Mishra 14-7-27-2 G Vashisht 9-3-30-0 UNI

Read more about: sportscricketranjiharyana
Story first published: Wednesday, December 12, 2007, 21:34 [IST]
Other articles published on Dec 12, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...