Home » More Sports » Holders Kerala stunned; runners-up UP struggle

Holders Kerala stunned; runners-up UP struggle

Chandigarh, Oct 23 (UNI) Defending champions Kerala were shocked while runners-up Uttar Pradesh were struggling to remain in fray on the opening day of the Federation Cup Cycle Polo Championship for men being held here today.

Spearheaded by Ashruddin, Indian Air Force toppled Kerala by a narrow 11-10 margin in a group A fixture. Talented Ashruddin topscored with eight goals for IAF.

Sagar (2) and Jatinder (1) were the other scorers for the airmen. R C Prashant netted eight goals for Kerala. BR Shabir got two goals for Kerala in a match which kept the spectators on the tips of their chairs.

Uttar Pradesh had mixed luck today.

After losing to Territorial Army by 6-13, Uttar Pradesh just managed to pip Vidarbha by 7-6, with Manoj Yadav clinching the match winner in the 3:11 seconds of the fourth chukker after the teams were tied six-all.

Ravi Sekhrw (3), Pramod Tiwari (3) and Manoj Yadv (1) were the winners scorers.

For Vidarbha Mani Shukla and Aditya Maurya scored three each.

Aditya also performed hat-trick by scoring in the 5:03, 5:31 and 5:57 seconds of the first chukker.

Vidarbha had earlier defeated hosts Chandigarh by 9-5.

S.S. Srivastava, SSP, inaugurated the Federation Cup, organised by the Chandigarh Cycle Polo Association at the Chandigarh Police Lines ground in Sector 26 here.

Results: Group A: Indian Air Force (Ashruddin 8, Saggar 2, Jatinder 1) bt Kerala (RC Prashant 8, BR Shabir 2) by 11-10.

Maharashtra (Harshal Bagre 6, Nikhil Dhaew 6, Milin Patley 3, Shivrajan 1) bt Rajasthan (Deepak 3, Promod 1, Bharat 1, Vijay Kant 1) by 16-6.

Group B: Territorial Army (Shrikant 5, Shanoj 4, Arshad 2, Shabir 2) bt Uttar Pradesh (Pramod Tisari 4, Ravi Shekhar 2) by 13-6.

Vidarbha (Manish Shukla 7, Aditya Mauraya 1, Vicky Dhankar 1) bt Chandigarh (Rohit Aswal2, Ajaay Ashwal 2, Vipin Karil 1) by 9-5.

Uttar Pradesh (Ravi Shekhar 3, Pramod Tiwari 3, Manoj Yadav 1) bt Vidarbha (Mani Shekhar 3, Adit Maurya 3) by 7-6.


Story first published: Wednesday, October 24, 2007, 12:09 [IST]
Other articles published on Oct 24, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...