Hyderabad gain first-innings lead against Punjab

Chandigarh, Nov 17 (UNI) Having taken a first-innings lead of 23 runs, Hyderabad were 85 for 2 in 31 overs on the penultimate day of the four-day Ranji Elite Group B match against Punjab at the PCA Stadium here today.

At close of play, Ravi Teja was batting on 61 (8x4s). Giving him company was Arjun Yadav on 10.

Centurian of the first innings, opener Daniel Manohar this time disappointed as he could contribute eight runs in 71 minutes before he was bowled by Birinder Singh. His wicket fell at 44. New comer Anoop Pai (2) could occupy the crease for just nine minutes before his stumps were uprooted by Birinder Singh. Anoop Yadav joined Ravi Teja and they carried the total to 85 without being separated.

Earlier, Punjab, resuming at their overnight score of 216 for 3, were dismissed for 356 in 124 overs. Overnight not out batsman Pankaj Dharmani could not add even a single run to his overnight score of 52 before be was caught by Habeeb of the bowling of Ashwin Yadav. Uday Kaul, who was not out at 22 last night, added 24 runs before he was bowled by P Ojha (3 for 127).

Ankur Kakkar (45, 5x4s) and Manpreet (48, 8x4s) defied the Hyderabad bowling and their seventh wicket partnership yielded 71 runs. Daniel Manohar (2 for 15) and Ashwin Yadav (2 for 75) were the other main striker bowlers for Hyderabad.

At close, Hyderabad were 108 runs ahead with eight wickets in hand.

Hyderabad (Ist innings): 379.

Punjab (1st innings) RS Ricky c&b Ojha 37 K Goel c Pai b Khader 75 R Inder c sub (Vishal Sharma) b Ojha 20 P Dharmani c Ahmed b Ashwin Yadav 52 U Kaul b Ojha 46 C Madan lbw b Ashwin Yadav 8 A Kakkar run out (Shoaib) 45 M Gony c sub (Vishal Sharma) b Shoaib4 8 Birinder Singh c Yadav b Manohar 1 Amanpreet Singh c Pai b Manohar 1 S Ladda not out 4 Extras (b 4, lb 10, nb 5) 19 Total (all out in 124 overs) 356.

Fall of wickets: 1-88, 2-142, 3-150, 4-216, 5-236, 6-268, 7-339, 8-340, 9-342, 10-356.

Bowling SM Shoaib 19-9-33-1 MA Khader 13-3-40-1 PP Ojha 47-9-1 27-3 A Shinde 13-4-32-0 Ashwin Yadav 25-7-75-2 DB Ravi Teja 3-0-20-0 DS Manohar 4-0-15-2 Hyderabad (2nd innings) DS Manohar b Birinder Singh 8 DB Ravi Teja batting 61 SA Pai b Birinder Singh 2 AS Yadav batting 10.

Extras (lb 1, w 1, nb 2) . 4 Total (for 2 wickets in 31 overs) 85.

Fall of wickets: 1-44, 2-50.

Bowling M Gony 9-1-24-0 Birinder Singh 9-2-28-2 Amanpreet Singh 6-0-19-0 A Kakkar 6-2-12-0 K Goel 1-0-1-0.


Story first published: Saturday, November 17, 2007, 22:07 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 17, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...

Get breaking news alerts from myKhel