IAF, UP, Maharashtra and TA enter semis

Chandigarh, Oct 24 (UNI) Group A leaders Indian Air Force will face Group B runners-up Uttar Pradesh and Group B winners Territorial Army will challenge Group A runners-up Maharashtra in the semi-finals of the Federation Cup Cycle Polo Championship tomorrow morning.

There was a three-way tie among Indian Air Force, defending champions Kerala and Maharashtra. They collected four points each from two victories and one defeat.

Indian Air Force and Maharashtra advanced to the semi-finals on the basis of the goal average. IAF topped Group A with 40 goals.

Maharashtra were runners-up with 38 goals. Holders Kerala made their exit with 36 goals.

From Group B, Territorial Army were the only team which remained unbeaten in the four-team group league and topped with six points to qualify for the last four stage. Last year's runners-up Uttar Pradesh, with two victories and one defeat, were runners-up with four points and qualified for semi-finals from group B.

Holders Kerala, who were stunned by IAF in their opening match by 11-10, defeated Rajasthan by 14-6 and also hosts Chandigarh by 10-8 today.

Despite two wins, Kerala bowed out of the tournament on goal average. Maharashtra had a mixed luck today. They defeated ''dark horse' of the tournament Indian Air Force by 16-7 but were beaten by Kerala by 12-6.

Territorial Army today secured full points against Chandigarh whom they beat by 15-4 and Vidarbha by 18-8. Yesterday, TA had shocked runners-up Uttar Pradesh by 13-6 to remain undefeated.

Results: Group A: Kerala (Prashant 7, Naveen Raj 3, Ajeesh 2, Shabir 1, Nitin 1) bt Rajasthan (Deepak 3, Bharat 2, Mahinder 1) by 14-6.

Maharashtra (Harshal Bagre 9, Milind Pately 4, Nikhal Dhare 2, Shivrajan 1) bt Indian Air Force (Ashruddin 5, Jatinder 1, Sagar 1) vt 16-7.

Kerla (Prashant 9, Naveen Raj 3) bt Maharashtra (Nikhil Dahare 3, Milind 2, Shivrajan 1) by 12-6.

Indian Air Force (Ashruddin 14, Saroj 10, Jatinder 2, Shiva 1) bt Rajasthan (Deepak 1, Pranod 1, Mahinder 1) by 27-3.

Group B: Territorial Army (Shabir 5, Abdul Kalam 4, Shrikant 2, Anshad 2, Shanoj 2) bt Chandigarh (Mandeep 2, Rohit 1, Ajay 1) by 15-4. Territorial Army (Shanoj 7, Shabir 5, Anshad 4, Andhul Kalam 1, Shrikant 1) bt Vidarbha (Prashant 4, Aditya 3, Manish 1) by 18-8.

Uttar Pradesh (Pramod 6, Ravi Shekhar 2, Manoj 1, Sharwan 1) bt Chandigarh (Ajay 3, Rohit 4, Oman 1) by 10-8.


Story first published: Wednesday, October 24, 2007, 22:03 [IST]
Other articles published on Oct 24, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...