India aims better show in world korfball championship

Bew Delhi, Oct 25 (UNI) Rina Singh will lead a 14-member Indian team in the 7th World Korfball Championship to be held at Brno in Czech Republic from October 31 to November 10.

Korfball Federation of India Secretary General Rajesh Mehta said the team was upbeat of a good show in the championship and hopeful of a better performance that the 11th-place finish in the 2003 championship in Rotterdam in the Netherlands.

''Our team has received intensive coaching and they are expected to do very well in the championship,'' Mehta told reporters at a press conference here today.

''India has qualified for the world championship on the basis of their excellent performance at Hong Kong last year at the Asia-Oceania Korfball championship,'' he added.

India have been placed in Pool C along with England, Hungary and hosts Czech republic in the 16-team competition.

Mehta also informed that India's international referee Deepak Mathur has been invited to officiate in the championship.

The team will leave For Czech Republic on October 29.

The squad: Pradeep Dahiya, Parveen Dhayal, Kuldeep Singh (vive-captain), Daniel GSSK, Manjit Singh, Sushant Aggarwal, Praveen Sharma, Shalini, Monika, Lalita Devi, Rina Singh (captain), Jagdish Kaur, Sumandeep Kaur, Shweta Dutt Officials: Dilip Kumar (Manager); Mala Gupta (Manager) Mukesh Khandelwal (Coach); Ashok Kumar (Delegate) UNI

Story first published: Thursday, October 25, 2007, 17:42 [IST]
Other articles published on Oct 25, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...

Get breaking news alerts from myKhel