India win toss, decide to field

Kochi, Oct 2 (UNI) India captain M S Dhoni won the toss and asked Australia to bat first in the second Future Cup series One Day International, while the match got off to a start after a delay of half an hour.

India made two changes, deciding to play two spinners on a slow wicket at the Nehru Stadium whch has been rain-affected due to prolongred south east monsoon showers in Kerala.

Off spinner Harbhajan Singh was brought in place of R P Singh while Karnataka batsman Robin Uthappa came in place of the injured Sourav Ganguly. Sourav sustained a hamstring strain while fielding in the first ODI in Bagalore which was abandoned do to rain.

The match scheduled to start at 0900 hrs was delayed as the wet outfield took some more time to dry up.

The Aussies, however, retained the same team which went into the first match. They missed the services of captain Ricky Ponting recovering from an injury. and Adam Gilchrist led the side.

The teams: India: M S Dhoni(Capt), Yuvraj Singh, Robin Uthappa, Sachin Tendulkar,Rahul Dravid, Robin Uthappa, Gautam Gambhir, Irfan Pathan, Ramesh Powar, Zaheer Khan, S Sreeshanth and Harbhajan Singh.

Australia: : Adam Gilchrist(Capt), Mathew Hayden, Stuart Clark, Brad Hogg, Brad Hadin, Michael Clark, Mike Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee and Andrew Symonds.


Story first published: Wednesday, October 3, 2007, 15:39 [IST]
Other articles published on Oct 3, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...