Indian team to leave B'lore for World Tenpin Bowling Championship

Chennai, Aug 18 (UNI) After a two-week-long camp in Bangalore, a six member Indian team would leave tonight for the World Men's Tenpin Bowling Championship to be held at Bangkok in Thailand from August 21 to 31.

Talking to mediapersons after the Executive Committee meeting of the Tenpin Bowling Federation of India (TBFI) here today, newly appointed President Karti P Chidambaram said for the first time, the entire expenses for the team would be borne by the TBFI.

''This is the beginning. Henceforth the TBFI will meet the entire expenditure of the Indian team participating in all the tournaments held abroad in future,'' he added.

The team would leave from Bangalore.

Following is the team : Vijay Punjabi, Anthony Rajkumar (both Karnataka), Rahul Solanki, P Rajmohan (both Tamil Nadu), Krishna Dasari Vijay (AP) and Dilbir Singh (Bengal).

Mr Karti said Dilbir Singh was included in the team after Abdul Hameed, who was selected as the sixth member of the team, failed to attend the camp in Bangalore.

Mr T S Nandakumar (Tamil Nadu) and Gerald Samuel (Malaysia) would be the Manager and Coach respectively, while TBFI Secretary- elect R Kannan would be the Technical Observer and Team Coordinator.


Story first published: Monday, August 18, 2008, 19:35 [IST]
Other articles published on Aug 18, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...