Home » More Sports » Indra, Vivek topple seeds to make it to maiden finals

Indra, Vivek topple seeds to make it to maiden finals

Pune, Dec 20 (UNI) Pune's Indra Patwardhan toppled two seeds including top seed Varun Pathere to move into the Boys under-10 finals, while unseeded Vivek Waghmare upset fifth seeded Nishant Rebello to make it to the Boys under-12 final today at the 22nd edition of the Pravin Trophy Junior National ranking tennis tournament being played here.

In the boys under-10 quarterfinals played in the morning session Indra Patwardhan a fifth standard student of Vikhe Patil school upset fourth seeded Riyaan Pundole 9-2, while in the semifinals in the evening session he accounted for top seeded Varun Pathere 6-2, 6-3 to make it to the maiden final. In the final, he will take on second seeded Sahil Deshmukh of Pune who scraped past Karan Mehta of Mumbai 0-6, 6-3, 6-4.

Unseeded Vivek Waghmare registered another upset when he accounted for fifth seeded Nishant Rebello of Andhra Pradesh 6-4, 6-4 in the Boys under-12 event, Vivek will take on second seeded Rohan Bhatia who easily defeated qualifier Harshal Sethi of Indore 6-0, 6-1.

In the boys under-14 event top seeded Arjun Kadhe will take on second seeded Aniruddha Darp making it an all Pune final, while in the Girls under-14 event Ankita Raina will take on Sabatini Anka Raju in the finals.

All finals will be played tomorrow and the prizes will be given away by Collector Prabhakar Deshmukh.

Following are the results: Semi Finals: National Ranking: Boys under 14: Arjun Kadhe (S-1) bt Rohan Bhatia 6-4, 7-6(7-5); Anirudha Darp (S-2) bt Om Dalvi 6-2, 6-3; Girls under 14: Ankita Raina (S-1, Guj) bt Eeete Mehta (Guj) 6-0, 6-0; Anka Raju Sabatini AP (S-2) bt Avanee Gosavi 6-3, 6-1; Boys under 12: Vivek Waghmare bt Nishant Rebello (S-5, AP) 6-4, 6-4; Rohan Bhatia bt Harshal Sethi (MP) 6-0, 6-1; Girls under 12: Rutuja Bhosale bt Teesta Paul (Del) 6-0, 6-1; Vasanti Shinde bt Rujuta Ugalmugale 6-0, 6-1; State Ranking: Boys under 10: Quarter-finals: Varun Pathere (S-1) bt Brent Dixon 9-5; Indra Patwardhan (S-8) bt Riyan Pandole (S-4) 9-2; Karan Mehta (S-3) bt Sunny Khandke 9-1; Sahil Deshmukh (S-2) bt Shubham Kale 9-2; Semi finals: Indra Patwardhan (S-8) bt Varun Pathere (S-1) 6-2, 6-3; Sahil Deshmukh (S-2) bt Karan Mehta (S-3) 0-6, 6-3, 6-4; Girls under 10: Semifinals: Riya Vardhan bt Apurva Barate 7-5, 6-2; Prabhuti Singhaniya bt Trishala Menkar 6-1, 6-0.


Story first published: Thursday, December 20, 2007, 21:05 [IST]
Other articles published on Dec 20, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...